skip to content
07 Jan 2010
IOC News

2010 Academic Research Scholarships

In the framework of its Postgraduate Research Grant Programme, the IOC Olympic Studies Centre (OSC) has chosen seven research projects for their academic excellence and for their potential for developing the Olympic Movement.

The 2010 winners

The authors of these projects will benefit from a scholarship which will allow them to consult the OSC’s collections (unique collections of more than one million archived documents, publications, official reports, photos and films). The results of their research should be published at the end of the year. The seven candidates selected and their chosen projects are:
- Andrew Denning (University of California, USA): The Cultural Meanings and Environmental Effects of Skiing in Alpine Europe Before 1945.
- Russell Field (University of Manitoba, Canada): The Olympic Movement’s Response to the Challenge of Emerging Nationalism in Sport: An Historical Reconsideration of Games of the New Emerging Forces (GANEFO).
- Kyriaki Kaplanidou (University of Florida, USA): Examining the Importance of Olympic Games Legacy Aspects Among Host City Residents: A Temporal Approach.
- Philany Nongogo (University of Pretoria, South Africa): The Sports-Boycott and Anti-Apartheid Movement and their Effect on Social Change in South Africa, 1955-2005.
- Ilaria Pappalepore (University of Westminster, Great Britain / Italy): The Olympic Cultural Programme and its Role in Fostering Local Creativity.
- Toby Rider (University of Western Ontario, Canada / Great Britain: The Use of Exiled Athletes by the United States Government at the Olympic Games.
- Donna Shy Yun Wong (University of Central Lancashire, Great Britain / Singapore): Creating a Youth Olympic Legacy – A Case Study of Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

37 files from 21 countries

The winners were selected by a committee comprising experts renowned for the quality of their research linked to Olympism and/or for their involvement in Olympic studies. This year, 37 candidature files were submitted from 21 countries, addressing a variety of themes such as Olympism and Peace, Youth Games, Doping and Olympic Movement, the different aspects of the Games’ legacy or Olympic History.

Who chooses ?

The selection committee for the 2010 edition of the programme comprised the following members: Gudrun Doll-Tepper (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany), Beatriz García (University of Liverpool, Great Britain), Bruce Kidd (University of Toronto, Canada), Françoise Papa (Université Stendhal Grenoble 3, France), Alberto Reppold (Universidade Federale do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil), Kristine Toohey (Griffith University Gold Coast, Australia), Stephan Wassong (German Sport University, Cologne, Germany) as well as Philippe Blanchard (IOC Information Management Director), Nuria Puig (Head of University Relations - OSC), and OSC representatives.

Tags IOC News
back to top