skip to content
14 Jan 2009
Olympic News

2009 Academic Research Scholarships

In the framework of its Postgraduate Research Grant Programme, the IOC Olympic Studies Centre (OSC) has chosen seven research projects for their academic excellence and for their potential for developing the Olympic Movement.
The 2009 winners
The authors of these projects will benefit from a scholarship which will allow them to consult the OSC’s collections (unique collections of more than one million archived documents, publications, official reports, photos and films). The results of their research should be published at the end of the year. The seven candidates selected and their chosen projects are:
- Ana Adi (University of the West of Scotland, UK / Romania): New Media, Human Rights and the Olympic Movement – a literature review.
- Pascal Charitas (University of Paris-Sud XI Orsay, France): Les conditions d’émergence du développement sportif olympique en Afrique: analyse comparée entre le Royaume-Uni et la France.
- Kathryn Henne (University of California (Irvine), USA): A historiographic investigation of anti-doping regulation and enforcement in international sport.
- Jialing Luo (University of Cambridge, UK / China): Olympism and nation-building: Impacts of the Beijing Olympics on traditional courtyard neighbourhood.
- Lynn Minnaert (University of Westminster, UK / Belgium): Database and analysis of recent Olympic non-infrastructural programmes that specifically target socially excluded groups.
- Nancy Stevenson (University of Westminster, UK): London 2012: The impacts of cultural legacy programmes on local communities.
- Jason Charles Vuic (Bridgewater College, USA): Multiculturalism through Olympism: the 1984 Sarajevo Olympics.
40 files from 19 countries 
The winners were selected by a committee comprising world-renowned experts for the quality of their research linked to Olympism and/or for their involvement in Olympic studies. This year, 40 candidature files were submitted from 19 countries, addressing a variety of themes such as the Olympic values and multiculturalism, the different aspects of the Games’ legacy, the role of the Olympic Movement in society and international relations.
Who chooses ?
The selection committee for the 2009 edition of the programme comprised the following members: Gudrun Doll-Tepper (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany), Beatriz García (University of Liverpool, Great Britain), Bruce Kidd (University of Toronto, Canada), Hai Ren (Beijing Sport University, China), Alberto Reppold (Universidade Federale do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil), Kristine Toohey (Griffith University Gold Coast, Australia), Stephan Wassong (Liverpool Hope University, Great Britain) as well as Nuria Puig (Head of University Relations - IOC), Philippe Blanchard (Director of the IOC Information management) and OSC representatives.
back to top Fr