skip to content
13 Jan 2010

[PRESS RELEASE] Nawal El Moutawakel to Chair Rio 2016 Coordination Commission

International Olympic Committee (IOC) President Jacques Rogge has appointed Ms Nawal El Moutawakel to chair the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXXI Olympiad in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 2016. El Moutawakel will lead a 17-strong, multinational team of men and women, who will be responsible for assisting the Rio 2016 Organising Committee during the period leading up to the Olympic Games, as well as monitoring the progress of preparations.

An IOC member since 1998, El Moutawakel joined the IOC Executive Board in 2008, the same year that she was appointed as the Chair of the 2016 Olympic Games Evaluation Committee. She is the former Minister of Youth and Sport in Morocco and an Olympic champion, having won gold in the 400m hurdles in the Games of the XXIII Olympiad in Los Angeles in 1984. She also chaired the Evaluation Commission for the 2012 Olympic Games.

The members of the Coordination Commission, also announced today, comprise IOC members from five continents with wide-ranging Olympic Games experience gained either from work on former IOC Evaluation or Coordination Commissions or with previous Games Organising Committees.

The members of the Commission represent the many stakeholders of the Olympic Movement, including the athletes, the National Olympic Committees, and International Sports Federations, and act as a link between them, the Organising Committee and other Olympic Family stakeholders, thereby ensuring the coordination necessary to help deliver successful Olympic Games.
"Nawal El Moutawakel is ideally suited to lead our highly experienced and multifaceted team of experts," said IOC President Rogge. "As an Olympic gold medallist and Chair of the IOC Evaluation Committee for the last two Olympiads, she knows the Games inside and out, is well-acquainted with the Rio organisers and has the experience and leadership abilities to ensure that Rio is 100 per cent ready to host a fantastic Games in 2016," added Rogge.

El Moutawakel said she was honoured to become the first women to chair the Coordination Commission. "I am delighted to have been named as Chair of the Commission and am confident our team will help Rio deliver a memorable Summer Games in 2016," she said. "Having chaired the Evaluation Committee for the 2016 Games, I have first-hand knowledge of the many strengths that Rio and Brazil have to offer, and together we will strive to showcase that to the world in six years’ time."

The members of the Coordination Commission are as follows:
Executive Director for the Commission
Gilbert FELLI (SUI) IOC Olympic Games Executive Director

Members (in alphabetical order)
Beatrice ALLEN (GAM)
Sergey BUBKA (UKR)
Richard L. CARRIÓN (PUR)
Timothy Tsun Ting FOK (HKG)
Patrick Joseph HICKEY (IRL)
Julio César MAGLIONE (URU)
Alexander POPOV (RUS)
Ching-Kuo WU (TPE)

# # #

For more information, please contact the IOC Communications Department:
Tel: +41 21 521 60 00, e-mail:, or visit our web site at


Broadcast quality videos can be accessed and downloaded for free: click here
Login: IOC
Password: MEDIA2009


For an extensive selection of photos available shortly after each event, please follow us on Flickr
To request archive photos and footage, please contact our Images team at:    

Social media

For up-to-the-minute information on the IOC and regular updates, please follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

back to top