skip to content

Nine Candidates for IOC Athletes’ Commission

20 Jan 2010
Olympic News

Nine athletes will be standing as candidates for election to the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Athletes’ Commission during the Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver. Hailing from nine different countries across four continents, all the candidates are winter athletes having participated in 2006 in Turin or participating in Vancouver. See list below.

Two Athletes from two different sports

Voting will take place in Vancouver and Whistler by the athletes participating in the 2010 Games, who are asked to vote for two athletes from two different sports. The announcement of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes will be held on 24 February. The athletes are elected for a term of eight years and become IOC members during that period.

The two new members will replace Pernilla Wiberg and Manuela Di Centa, who were elected to the Athletes’ Commission at the Games in Salt Lake City in 2002 and have come to the end of their eight-year term of office. 

Nineteen-member Commission

 The IOC Athletes’ Commission was created in 1981 and serves as the voice of the active athletes within the Olympic Movement. It is composed of 19 members, of whom there are eight summer sports athletes elected by their peers at the Games of the Olympiad; four winter sports athletes elected by their peers at the Olympic Winter Games; and up to seven athletes appointed by the IOC President to ensure a balance in terms of gender, sport and region. In addition, a World Olympians Association (WOA) representative and an International Paralympic Committee (IPC) representative are ex-officio members.

Representing the Athletes within the Olympic Movement

The IOC Athletes’ Commission members are involved in many activities within the Olympic Movement, such as the evaluation process of candidate cities seeking to host the Olympic Games, the review of the sports programme for the Games, and the fight against doping. It makes recommendations to the IOC’s main commissions and working groups and also works in liaison with the athletes’ commissions of the National Olympic Committees (NOCs) and International Federations (IFs).


COOPER Jacqui – AUS - Freestyle skiing
DENERIAZ Antoine – FRA – Alpine skiing
GEDEVANISHVILI Elene – GEO – Figure skating
KHASH-ERDENE Khurelbaatar - MGL - Cross country skiing
MAJDIČ Petra - SLO - Cross country skiing
PENGILLY Adam – GBR - Bobsleigh Skeleton
RUGGIERO Angela Marie – USA - Ice Hockey
SANFRATELLO Ippolito – ITA - Speed skating
ŠATAN Miroslav – SVK - Ice hockey

Biographies of the candidates can be found here

Learn more about the IOC Athletes’ Commission here

back to top Fr