skip to content
Nagano 1998, Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki IOC

Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki


Owls Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki are also known as the Snowlets. “Snow” recalls the winter season, during which the Games take place, and “lets” refers to “let‟s”, and invitation to join in the Games celebrations. In addition, the first two letters of the four names form the word “snowlets”. “Owlets” means young owls.


Sukki, Nokki, Lekki and Tsukki are four snowy owls. They represent respectively fire (Sukki), air (Nokki), earth (Lekki) and water (Tsukki). The choice of four mascots is a nod to the four years that make up an Olympiad.


Landor Associates

Did you know?

Originally, the Nagano Games mascot was going to be a weasel called Snowple.

Owls are venerated around the world as having the “wisdom of the woods”; in Greek mythology, the owl is associated with Athena, the goddess of wisdom.

The four Snowlets‟ names were chosen from among 47,484 suggestions.

The agency responsible for creating the mascots was the same one that designed the torch for the Atlanta Games in 1996, and also took part in designing the mascots for Salt Lake City 2002.

Find out more about the Nagano 1998 Olympic Games on

back to top Fr