skip to content
GOITSCHEL Marielle
GOITSCHEL Marielle

Marielle GOITSCHEL

  • O 2
  • A 1
  • B 0

Skieuse alpine française, amatrice de canulars, dont les exploits olympiques firent d’elle la plus titrée des skieuses de slalom de son temps.

Une famille douée

Aux Jeux d’hiver de 1964 à Innsbruck, Marielle Goitschel, 18 ans, remporta l’argent dans le slalom olympique derrière sa sœur aînée Christine qui s’appropriait l’or. Deux jours plus tard dans le slalom géant, Marielle décrochait l’or, tandis que Christine se classait ex aequo et prenait l’argent.

Canular

Après leur victoire, Marielle annonça qu’elle venait de se fiancer avec un skieur des plus prometteurs, un certain Jean-Claude Killy. La nouvelle fit le tour du monde. Rapidement, l’histoire s’avéra un canular monté la veille par les sœurs Goitschel.

Succès ultérieurs

Marielle participa de nouveau aux Jeux Olympiques en 1968 à Grenoble et elle obtint une nouvelle médaille d’or, dans le slalom cette fois. Avec ses trois médailles d’or et ses onze titres de Championnats du monde en ski alpin, elle demeure l’une des skieuses les plus titrées de tous les temps.

Plus

Galerie


Résultats



back to top

skip to content
GOITSCHEL Marielle
GOITSCHEL Marielle

Marielle GOITSCHEL

  • G 2
  • S 1
  • B 0

A French Alpine skier with a taste for practical jokes whose Olympic success made her the most successful slalom skier of her day.

A gifted family

At the 1964 Innsbruck Winter Games, 18-year-old Marielle Goitschel won silver in the Olympic slalom while her older sister Christine won the gold. Two days later, Marielle won gold the giant slalom, while Christine tied for the silver.

Practical joke

After their victory, Marielle announced to the press that she had just become engaged to a soon-to-be-famous skier named Jean-Claude Killy. The happy news spread around the world. Then it was discovered that the story was really a practical joke that the Goitschel sisters had invented the night before.

Further success

Marielle returned to the Olympic Games in 1968 and won another gold medal, this time in the slalom race. She retired that year, but her total of five Olympic medals, including three golds, plus 11 World Championships medals in Alpine skiing, makes her one of the most successful female skiers of all time.

More

Gallery


Results



back to top