skip to content

Au panthéon de la lutte féminine et des Jeux Olympiques

Kaori Icho n’a jamais perdu un combat aux Jeux Olympiques, inaugurant le palmarès de la lutte féminine à Athènes en 2004 avant de conserver son titre à Beijing 2008, Londres 2012 et Rio 2016. Elle est la première olympienne de l’histoire à remporter quatre titres dans la même discipline. Au Japon et dans son sport, Kaori Icho est une légende. 

Facebook n’existe pas encore, et Twitter est à trois ans de son apparition en ligne lorsque Kaori Icho subit à 19 ans sa dernière défaite pour les treize années à venir sur un tapis de lutte, un an avant les débuts de son sport au programme olympique. Depuis lors, la championne japonaise née à Hachinoe (extrême nord de l’île principale de Honshu) dans une famille de lutteurs, s’est constituée un extraordinaire palmarès, devenant la première femme à remporter quatre médailles olympiques consécutives dans la même discipline. Kaori Icho est invaincue aux Jeux ! Elle est déjà la meilleure lutteuse de son pays au niveau scolaire, promise à un avenir exceptionnel, championne nationale à 17 ans, puis championne du monde pour la première fois un an plus tard, en 2002 à Chalcis (Grèce) dans sa catégorie des 63kg, titre qu’elle conserve à New York en 2003. 


Athènes 2004
La lutte libre féminine débute aux Jeux dans le gymnase Ano Liossa d’Athènes, les 22 et 23 août 2004 avec quatre catégories. En 63kg, Kaori Icho qui vient de fêter ses 20 ans, ne fait pas de détails. Technique, énergique, elle domine largement toutes ses adversaires dans la phase de poules, élimine la Française Lise Legrand 4-0 en demi-finale, puis retrouve l’Américaine Sara McMann en finale pour une revanche. C’est elle qui lui a fait subir sa dernière défaite à l’Open de Klippan (Suède) en 2003 ! Kaori s’impose 3-2. La famille Icho revient de Grèce avec deux médailles puisque sa soeur ainée Chiharu prend l’argent dans la catégorie 48 kg.

Beijing 2008
Championne du monde 2005 à Budapest (Hongrie), 2006 à Guangzhou (Chine) et 2007 à Bakou (Azerbaïdjan), Kaori Icho défend son titre sur le tapis de lutte du Gymnase de l'Université de l'agriculture de Chine à Beijing le 17 août 2008. La veille, elle a pleuré à chaudes larmes quand sa soeur Chiharu a perdu la finale des 48kg pour la deuxième fois. Quand son tour arrive, la lutteuse de d’1,66m pour 60kg se montre intraitable. En finale, elle affronte la championne d’Europe russe en titre, Alena Kartashova et l’expédie au tapis dans la 2e période pour remporter sa deuxième médaille d’or olympique. 

Londres 2012
Sur la route des Jeux de Londres, Kaori Icho remporte deux titres mondiaux supplémentaires, Moscou 2010, et Istanbul 2011. Elle traverse un moment de doute, puisque Chiharu qui a toujours été à ses côtés, en compétition et en dehors, a décidé de mettre un terme à sa carrière pour devenir professeur. Mais l’envie et la passion sont toujours là et le 8 août 2012 devant le public de l’ExCel de Londres, elle dispute sa 3e finale olympique face à la Chinoise Rui Xue. Toujours aussi puissante et explosive, elle lui fait subir la même chose qu’à toutes ses autres adversaires dans ce tournoi 2012, la dominant grâce à son inégalable technique, chacun de ses mouvements précis, parfaits, s’enchaînant l’un après l’autre avec fluidité. 5-0 ! « Ces trois Jeux sont passés si vite ! Les quatrièmes vont arriver à la même vitesse. Mais pour le moment, je n’en ai aucune idée », dit-elle. 

Un de chute
Championne du monde pour la 8e fois à Budapest (Hongrie) en 2013, Kaori Icho est encore à la recherche de la perfection. « Bien que je gagne à nouveau le titre mondial, je ne suis pas satisfaite. Je n’ai pas encore réussi à tirer le meilleur de moi-même », explique-t-elle. Elle passe alors dans la catégorie 58kg compte tenu de l’augmentation du nombre de catégories en lutte libre féminine à Rio 2016 et atteint le chiffre magique de 10 titres mondiaux : victoires à Tashkent (Ouzbékistan) en 2014 et à Las Vegas (USA) en 2015. En janvier 2016, elle subit sa première défaite en treize ans et 189 combats, battue en finale du Golden Grand Prix de Krasnoyarsk (Russie) par la jeune lutteuse mongole Orkhon Purevdorj. Elle dit alors que ce revers la « fait grandir » et qu’elle est déterminée à en tirer tous les enseignements nécessaires. 

Rio 2016
Elles sont deux lutteuses japonaises, deux légendes, à tenter la passe de quatre à Rio en 2016. Saori Yoshida (13 titres mondiaux, championne olympique des 55kg 2004, 2008 et 2012) et Kaori Icho. Mais là où Yoshida chute sur la dernière marche, battue pour l’or par l’Américaine Helen Maroulis, Icho va devenir l’égale du lanceur de disque américain Al Oerter et de ses compatriotes sauteur en longueur Carl Lewis et nageur Michael Phelps (200m 4 nages), les seuls olympiens à avoir triomphé quatre fois de suite dans la même épreuve. Le 15 août, elle se montre à nouveau intraitable face à ses adversaires successives, dans l’Arena Carioca 2, et fête la victoire après avoir battu en finale la Russe Valeria Koblova 3-1, en déclenchant un mouvement gagnant en fin de rencontre. « L’Idée de remporter ma quatrième victoire consécutive ne m’a pas mis la moindre pression, mais je pense que c’étaient les premiers Jeux où j’ai ressenti de la peur. Ma maman n’était pas là, et il y avait beaucoup d’autres choses dans ma tête, mais je pense que j’ai gagné ce titre à grâce à mon désir », dit-elle à chaud. 

Et maintenant ? 
Le 13 septembre 2016 à Tokyo, Kaori Icho reçoit le « prix d’honneur de la Nation » des mains du premier ministre Shinzo Abe. A 32 ans, elle ne pas dit si elle compte disputer les Jeux de 2020 à domicile pour tenter de gagner un cinquième titre olympique. « Cela fait partie des possibilités. Mais tout est lié à l’état de mon corps, et quatre ans, c’est long. Si vous n’êtes pas préparée pour ça, vous ne pouvez-vous fixer un objectif à quatre années. J’ai besoin d’un peu de temps pour y réfléchir… »

Plus


Galerie


Résultats


back to top En

skip to content
Kaori Icho
Kaori Icho

Kaori ICHO

  • G 4
  • S 0
  • B 0

A giant of women’s wrestling

Japanese freestyle wrestler Kaori Ichō has never lost a bout at the Olympics and won her first gold at Athens 2004 before repeating the feat at Beijing 2008, London 2012 and Rio 2016. The first female Olympian to win four consecutive titles in the same discipline, she is a legend in both her native country and her sport.

Facebook had yet to see the light of day and Twitter was still three years away from being launched when Japan’s Kaori Ichō suffered her last defeat on the mat for 13 years, in 2003, a year before women’s freestyle wrestling made its first appearance on the Olympic programme. Born in Hachinoe, at the northern tip of Japan’s main island of Honshu, and hailing from a family of wrestlers, the Japanese athlete has put together an extraordinarily successful career since then. The first woman in history to win individual gold in the same discipline at four consecutive Olympics, Ichō has a perfect record at the Games, and gave notice of her rich talent in becoming a national champion at the age of only 17. A year later, in 2002, she landed her first world title, in the 62kg class in Chalkida (GRE), a title she retained the following year in New York.

Maiden gold in Athens

Athens 2004 saw the first women’s freestyle wrestling competition in Olympic history, with four weight categories in total. Competing in the 63kg class, the technically gifted and energetic Ichō, who had just turned 20, made short work of her opponents in the elimination pool before beating France’s Lise Legrand 4-0 in the semis. Waiting for her in the final was none other than the USA’s Sara McMann, the wrestler who had inflicted that 2003 defeat on her, at the Klippan Open in Sweden. The rising Japanese star gained revenge with a 3-2 victory, giving her a gold to go with the silver won by her older sister Chiharu in the 48kg class.

Gold number two in Beijing

A world champion in 2005 in Budapest (HUN), 2006 in Guangzhou (CHN) and 2007 in Baku (AZE), Ichō defended her Olympic title for the first time at Beijing 2008, having suffered a setback the day before when sister Chiharu lost in the 48kg final for the second Games running. When her turn to take to the mat came, Ichō, who stands 1.66m tall and weighs 60kg, proved to be in a class of her own, and sealed her second gold by throwing then reigning European champion Alena Kartashova of Russia to the floor in the round two of the final.

A golden hat-trick

Ichō won two further world titles on the road to London 2012, topping the podium in Moscow in 2010 and in Istanbul a year later. Though Chiharu’s decision to retire from wrestling and become a teacher caused Ichō to ponder her career options, not least because the two siblings were inseparable on and off the wrestling circuit, the younger Ichō ultimately decided to continue pursuing her passion. She was rewarded for her faith at the London Games, where she won through to a third straight Olympic 63kg final, taking on China’s Rui Xue for gold. Turning in a typically powerful, explosive performance, Ichō inflicted on Rui the same fate as all her other opponents in the British capital. Her peerless technique and precise flowing movements proved too much for her Chinese adversary, who fell to a 5-0 defeat. “The last three Olympics have just run past so fast, probably the fourth will arrive fast too,” said the three-time champion, who added that she had no idea if he would be going for a fourth gold at Rio 2016.

A rare loss

Despite winning an eighth world title in Budapest (HUN) in 2013, Ichō was still on the hunt for perfection. “Although I have become the world champion once again, I am not fully satisfied,” she said. “I have not yet gotten the most out of myself.” With the number of women’s freestyle wrestling categories being increased to six at Rio 2016, the Japanese great decided to drop down to the 58kg class, not that it undermined her dominance. Triumphs in Tashkent (UZB) in 2014 and Las Vegas (USA) a year later took her tally of world titles to ten. Then came a major surprise when she suffered her first loss in 13 years and 189 bouts at the hands of the young Mongolian Orkhon Purevdorj in the final of the Golden Grand Prix in Krasnoyarsk (RUS). Reacting to defeat in the best possible way, Ichō said it would make her grow as a person and that she was determined to learn all the lessons she could from it.

Four out of four in Rio

Ichō was not the only Japanese wrestling legend going for a fourth consecutive title at Rio 2016.  

Saori Yoshida, a 13-time world champion and three-time 55kg Olympic gold medallist in 2004, 2008 and 2012 was also on the hunt for an unprecedented quadruple. While the great Yoshida would fall at the last hurdle – beaten by the USA’s Helen Maroulis in the 53kg final – the irrepressible Ichō was not to be denied. In defeating Russia’s Valeria Koblova 3-1 in the 58kg final, she emulated the achievement of American trio of Al Oerter (discus), Carl Lewis (long jump) and swimmer Michael Phelps (200m medley), the only Olympians to have won gold in the same event at four consecutive Games. “I didn’t feel the slightest pressure at the prospect of winning for the fourth time in a row, though these were the first Games where I have felt a little scared,” she said afterwards. “My mother wasn’t there and there were a lot of other things in my head. I think I won this title because I wanted it so badly though.”

What next?

In recognition of her achievements, Ichō received the People’s Honour Award from Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in Tokyo on 13 September 2016. Asked if she was planning to return to the Olympic stage to try and win a fifth straight gold on home soil at Tokyo 2020, the 32-year-old Ichō said: “It’s a possibility but it all depends on the shape my body’s in. Four years is a long time. If you’re not prepared for it, then you can’t set a target for four years’ time. I need a little time to think about it.”
More


Gallery


Results


back to top Fr