skip to content
THOMPSON Jenny
THOMPSON Jenny

Jenny THOMPSON

  • 8
  • 3
  • 1

Au service du relais

Jenny Thompson est la nageuse la plus médaillée de l’histoire aux Jeux Olympiques. Ses huit titres ont été exclusivement gagnés de 1992 à 2004 avec les relais américains.

Docteur Jennifer Elisabeth Thompson

Si vous vous rendez au Maine Medical Center de Portland, au nord-est des Etats-Unis, vous y croiserez peut-être le docteur Jenny Thompson, médecin-anesthésiste-réanimateur, peut-être la reconnaitrez-vous comme le font plupart des visiteurs, et peut-être vous parlera-t-elle de sa première vie, 17 années dans les bassins de compétition en nage libre et en papillon, passées a se constituer un palmarès exceptionnel avec notamment 12 médailles remportées en quatre Jeux Olympiques.

Brillante relayeuse

La carrière de nageuse de Jenny Thompson se déroule sur plusieurs théâtres : universitaire (un record de 19 titres remportés en NCAA avec l'Université de Stanford), mondial (31 médailles dont 16 en or cumulées en grand et en petit bassin) et olympique. Aux Jeux Olympiques, c’est comme membre des relais américains qu’elle gagne la totalité de ses titres : 4x100m (1992, 1996, 2000), 4x200m nage libre (1996, 2000) et 4x100m 4 nages (1992, 1996, 2000). Jenny Thompson remporte par ailleurs l’argent sur 100m nage libre en 1992, le bronze sur la même distance en 2000 et achève sa carrière à Athènes en 2004 avec deux médailles d’argent en relais, pour un total resté inégalé chez les dames.

Or et record mondiaux

Si le palmarès olympique de Jenny Thompson est essentiellement collectif, il en va autrement dans les championnats du monde.  Ainsi, à Perth (Australie) en 1998, elle remporte le 100m nage libre et le 100m papillon. Elle gagne à nouveau le 100m papillon à Barcelone en 2003. Dans ses deux spécialités, et en ajoutant le 50m, elle totalise huit médailles d’or individuelles en petit bassin de 1997 à 2004.  Jenny Thompson détient également le record du monde du 100m en 54.48 entre 1992 et 1994 et bat quatre fois celui du 100m papillon en petit bassin pour le porter à 56.56 à Athènes en 2000.

Retour vers le futur

Le docteur Jenny Thompson évoque avec plaisir son passé de championne, fière de ce qu’elle a accompli, attribuant sa réussite à la persévérance, au dévouement et au soutien de ses proches. Bien qu’ayant quitté les bassins de compétition, elle continue à s’engager à travers le programme de charité “Swim across America”  qui sert à collecter de l’argent pour la recherche contre le cancer. Toujours attachée à la magie des Jeux, et bien qu’étant enceinte de 30 semaines, elle part pour Londres avec son époux en juillet 2012 pour aller soutenir l’équipe américaine de natation. “J’aimerais pouvoir aller aux Jeux Olympiques pour toujours, car c’est une partie si importante de ma vie !” a-t-elle expliqué.

Plus


Galerie


Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • 3:36.39
    Natation
    relais 4x100m nage libre femmes
    3:59.12
    Natation
    relais 4x100m quatre nages femmes
  • 03:36.61
    Natation
    relais 4x100m nage libre femmes
    54.43
    Natation
    100m nage libre femmes
    03:58.30
    Natation
    relais 4x100m quatre nages femmes
    07:57.80
    Natation
    relais 4x200m nage libre femmes
  • 4:02.88
    Natation
    relais 4x100m quatre nages femmes
    7:59.87
    Natation
    relais 4x200m nage libre femmes
    3:39.29
    Natation
    relais 4x100m nage libre femmes
  • 3:39.46
    Natation
    relais 4x100m nage libre femmes
    4:02.54
    Natation
    relais 4x100m quatre nages femmes
    54.84
    Natation
    100m nage libre femmes

back to top En

skip to content
THOMPSON Jenny
THOMPSON Jenny

Jenny THOMPSON

  • G 8
  • S 3
  • B 1

The supreme team player

Between 1992 and 2004, Jenny Thompson won more Olympic medals than any other female swimmer in history, including eight golds, every one of which came in the relay events.

Trading swim cap for scalpel
After graduating from medical school in 2006, Dr Jenny Thompson went on to become a respected anaesthesiologist and surgeon, who currently works at the Maine Medical Center in the US city of Portland. She is also an Olympic swimming legend. Before focusing on medicine, she was a long-serving member of the US Olympic swimming team, competing in four editions of the Games and winning a total of 12 medals. In fact, no female swimmer in history has enjoyed more podium finishes at the Games.
Doyenne of the Olympic relay
Her swimming career started when she was at college, where she won a record 19 titles in the NCAA competing in the colours of Stanford University. She then graduated to the ranks of the US senior team, going on to enjoy huge success at both the World Swimming Championships and the Olympic Games for over a decade. In the Worlds she amassed a total of 31 medals, including 16 golds. She enjoyed similar success at the Olympic Games, but her eight gold medals came exclusively in the relay events –  the 4x100m freestyle (1992, 1996, 2000), the 4x200 freestyle (1996, 2000) and the 4x100m medley (1992, 1996, 2000). She also took an individual silver in the 100m freestyle in 1992, and a bronze over the same distance in 2000, before a final flourish at Athens 2004, where she won two silvers in the 4x400m freestyle and 4x100m medley.
Gold and world records
While Thompson’s Olympic titles were exclusively collective efforts, in the World Championships it was a different story. In Perth (AUS) in 1998, she won individual golds in both the 100m freestyle and 100m butterfly. She repeated her success in the butterfly at the 2003 Worlds in Barcelona. In fact, in her two favoured 100m events, together with the 50m, she won no less than eight individual golds at the Worlds between 1997 and 2004. In 1992, she also set a new world record of 54.48 in the 100m freestyle, which stood for two years; and on four occasions she established new world record times in the 100m butterfly, with the fastest of those, 56.56, coming in Athens in 2000.
Diehard Olympic fan
Thompson remains intensely proud of her accomplishments in the pool, and attributes her success to perseverance, dedication and the support of family and friends. Though no longer swimming competitively, she continues to volunteer regularly as a celebrity swimmer for the charity Swim Across America, which raises money for cancer research. She also remains fully committed to the Olympic cause, and in July 2012, despite being 30 weeks pregnant, she travelled to the UK with her husband to cheer on Team USA at the London Games. “I'd love to be able to go to the Olympics forever, because it was such an important part of my life,” she explained.
More


Gallery


Results

  • Games
    Result
    Sport
    Event
  • S 3:36.39
    Aquatics
    4x100m freestyle relay women
    S 3:59.12
    Aquatics
    4x100m medley relay women
  • G 03:36.61
    Aquatics
    4x100m freestyle relay women
    B 54.43
    Aquatics
    100m freestyle women
    G 03:58.30
    Aquatics
    4x100m medley relay women
    G 07:57.80
    Aquatics
    4x200m freestyle relay women
  • G 4:02.88
    Aquatics
    4x100m medley relay women
    G 7:59.87
    Aquatics
    4x200m freestyle relay women
    G 3:39.29
    Aquatics
    4x100m freestyle relay women
  • G 3:39.46
    Aquatics
    4x100m freestyle relay women
    G 4:02.54
    Aquatics
    4x100m medley relay women
    S 54.84
    Aquatics
    100m freestyle women

back to top Fr