The members are volunteers who represent the IOC and Olympic Movement in their country (they are not delegates of their country within the IOC).

New members are elected by the IOC Session. Each candidature file is analysed by the IOC Members Election Commission, then forwarded to the Executive Board. The latter submits its proposals to the Session, which elects new members by secret ballot.

Since 12 December 1999, the number of members has been limited to 115, which includes a maximum of 70 individual members, 15 active athletes, 15 representatives of the IFs, and 15 representatives of the NOCs.

The term of office of members is unlimited for members elected before 1966. An age limit has been set at 80 for the members elected between 1967 and 1999, and at 70 for those whose election took place after 1999.

Click here to see the list of all IOC members