skip to content

The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) was founded in 1908. Ice hockey made its Olympic debut at the 1924 Chamonix Winter Games.


A team must not have more than six players on the ice while play is in progress. Typically, these players are one goalkeeper, two defenders, two wings and one centre. However, fewer players can be on the ice as a result of penalties, and a goalkeeper can be replaced for another skater at any time at the team’s own risk.

Events and differences

Women currently compete in an eight-team tournament, whereas men compete in a 12-team tournament. The chief difference between women's and men's ice hockey is that body checking is not allowed in women's ice hockey.

Competition procedure

A regular game consists of three 20-minute periods, with a 15-minute intermission after the first and second periods. Teams change ends for each period. If a tie occurs in a medal-round game, a five-minute sudden-victory overtime period is played. In the gold medal game, a 20-minute sudden-victory period is played subsequent to another 15-minute intermission.

Penalty shoot-out

In the case of a tie after any sudden-victory period, a game-winning penalty shoot competition takes place to determine the winner.

Brandschenkestrasse 50
Postfach 1817
8027 Zurich

+41 44 562 2200
+41 44 562 2239

Ice Hockey



back to top Fr