skip to content
Handball


Sport collectif particulièrement dynamique, le handball est pratiqué pour la première fois à la fin du 19e siècle, en Scandinavie et en Allemagne.

Des origines européennes

C’est à la fin du 19e siècle, en Scandinavie et en Allemagne, que naît le handball moderne. Le handball sur gazon est reconnu au tournant du 20e siècle. En 1910, G. Wallström introduit le handball en Suède.

Première compétition

En 1928, à l'occasion des Jeux Olympiques d’Amsterdam, l’International Amateur Handball Federation (IAHF) est fondée. Le handball fait son entrée olympique lors des Jeux de Berlin en 1936. Deux ans plus tard, les premiers championnats du monde de handball sur gazon se déroulent en Allemagne.

Deux visions rivales

Entre 1938 et 1966, deux formes différentes de handball sont pratiquées. Elles possèdent chacune leur championnat du monde : une version jouée en extérieur sur un terrain de football par des équipes de 11 joueurs et une nouvelle version, préférée par les scandinaves, qui est jouée en salle, entre équipes de 7 joueurs.

Histoire olympique

Après 1936, le handball sur gazon n’est plus disputé aux Jeux, excepté comme sport de démonstration en 1952 à Helsinki. La version en salle du handball est présente pour la première fois aux Jeux Olympiques de 1972 à Munich. La Yougoslavie sort victorieuse et décroche la première médaille d’or à l’issue d’une compétition entre 16 équipes masculines.

L’introduction du handball féminin aux Jeux a lieu en 1976, à Montréal. L’Union Soviétique remporte cette première compétition olympique féminine et s’octroie ainsi deux médailles d’or, à l’issue du tournoi masculin à 11 équipes et des épreuves féminines regroupant six équipes.

Plus


Galerie

Handball - Hommes
Image Alt Text

Handball - Hommes

Le Français Nikola Karabatic saute pour tirer face aux Danois Mikkel Hansen, Rene Toft Hansen et Casper Mortensen pendant le tournois de Handball hommes le Jour 16 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Future Arena, le 21 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Handball - Hommes
Image Alt Text

Handball - Hommes

Le Danois Henrik Toft Hansen saute pour tirer face au Français Thierry Omeyer pendant le tournois de Handball hommes le Jour 16 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Future Arena, le 21 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Handball - Hommes
Image Alt Text

Handball - Hommes

Le Danois Mikkel Hansen saute pour tirer face à l'équipe de France pendant le tournois de Handball hommes le Jour 16 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Future Arena, le 21 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Handball - Hommes
Image Alt Text

Handball - Hommes

Le Danois Mikkel Hansen pose avec la médaille d'or pendant la cérémonie des médailles au Handball hommes le Jour 16 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Future Arena, le 21 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Handball - Hommes
Image Alt Text

Handball - Hommes

Le Français Nikola Karabatic a le contrôle de la balle face à ses adversaires Danois Rene Toft Hansen et Henrik Toft Hansen lors du match au Handball hommes le Jour 16 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Future Arena, le 21 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Handball - Hommes
Image Alt Text

Handball - Hommes

Le Danois Mikkel Hansen marque un point pour son équipe pendant la première partie contre l'équipe de France au Handball hommes le Jour 16 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Future Arena, le 21 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Plus

back to top En

skip to content
Handball

Men's events

Women’s events



Handball is a fast-paced team game that was first played in Scandinavia and Germany at the end of the 19th century.

European origins

The modern game of handball was first played towards the end of the 19th century in Scandinavia and Germany. Field handball was first recognised at the turn of the century and G. Wallström introduced the sport of "handball" to Sweden in 1910.

First competition

The International Amateur Handball Federation (IAHF) was set up in 1928 on the occasion of the Olympic Games in Amsterdam, leading to the first Field Handball World Championships being played in Germany in 1938, following its appearance at the 1936 Berlin Games.

Rival codes

Between 1938 and 1966 both forms of handball were played at separate World Championships: an outdoor, 11-a-side game played on a football pitch and a new 7-a-side indoor version preferred by the Scandinavians.

Olympic history

After 1936, field handball was no longer played at the Games, except as a demonstration sport in 1952 in Helsinki. Indoor handball was presented for the first time at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich. Yugoslavia was victorious and won the first gold medal after a competition between 16 men’s teams.

The introduction of women’s handball to the Games took place in 1976 in Montreal. The Soviet Union won this first women’s Olympic competition, taking home two gold medals after the 11-team men’s competition and the six-team women’s one.

More
More


Gallery

Handball - Men
Image Alt Text

Handball - Men

Nikola Karabatic of France jumps to shoot against Mikkel Hansen, Rene Toft Hansen and Casper Mortensen of Denmark during the Men's Gold Medal Match between Denmark and France on Day 16 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Future Arena on August 21, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Handball - Men
Image Alt Text

Handball - Men

Mikkel Hansen of Denmark jumps to take a shot during the Men's Gold Medal Match between Denmark and France on Day 16 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Future Arena on August 21, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Handball - Men
Image Alt Text

Handball - Men

Nikola Karabatic of France controls the ball against Rene Toft Hansen and Henrik Toft Hansen of Denmark during the Men's Gold Medal Match between Denmark and France on Day 16 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Future Arena on August 21, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Handball - Men
Image Alt Text

Handball - Men

Daniel Narcisse of France jumps to take a shot during the Men's Gold Medal Match between Denmark and France on Day 16 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Future Arena on August 21, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Handball - Men
Image Alt Text

Handball - Men

(L-R) Silver medalists team France, gold medalists team Denmark and bronze medalists team Germany pose during the medal ceremony for Men's Handball on Day 16 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Future Arena on August 21, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Handball - Men
Image Alt Text

Handball - Men

Martin Strobel and Paul Drux of Germany celebrate their victory follwoing the Men's Bronze Medal Match between Poland and Germany on Day 16 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Future Arena on August 21, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
More

back to top Fr