skip to content

Eric FRENZEL

  • O 3
  • A 1
  • B 2

Géant du combiné nordique

Meilleur spécialiste mondial du combiné nordique des années 2010, Eric Frenzel compte un record de cinq victoires consécutives au classement de la Coupe du monde. De Sotchi en 2014 à PyeongChang en 2018, il réussit l'exploit de conserver son titre sur tremplin normal, et s'installe tout en haut du palmarès avec six médailles olympiques dont trois en or.

 L'enfant de la balle

"Sauter loin, skier vite", Eric Frenzel s’y applique depuis sa plus tendre enfance. Son père, entraîneur de combiné nordique, l’a mis sur les skis à deux ans et en haut d’un tremplin à six ans. "C’est lui qui m’a intéressé à ce sport magnifique", dit-il. Champion du monde junior en sprint à Tarvisio (Italie) en mars 2007, il débute sur la Coupe du monde FIS la même année à 19 ans. Mais il devra patienter et parfaire son talent avant d’atteindre les sommets mondiaux. Jeune père d'un petit Phillip, il dispute ses premiers Jeux à Vancouver en 2010 revenant du tremplin et des pistes de Whistler avec la médaille de bronze par équipes remportée en compagnie de Johannes Ridzek, Tino Edelmann et Björn Kircheisen derrière les États-Unis (argent) et l'Autriche (or).

Successeur de Jason Lamy-Chappuis

Eric Frenzel marque une première fois l’histoire de son sport en devenant champion du monde sur le petit tremplin d’Holmenkollen à Oslo en mars 2011, puis en prenant le bronze sur le grand tremplin, et deux médailles d’argent par équipes. Le 4 décembre 2011 à Lillehammer, il remporte la première course à pénalités organisée sur la Coupe du monde. Lors de la saison 2012-2013, il s’envole littéralement, met fin à la domination du Français Jason Lamy-Chappuis (trois fois de suite vainqueur de la Coupe du monde), remporte six victoires et gagne le classement général ainsi que le gros globe de cristal qui l’accompagne. Il devient également champion du monde individuel pour la deuxième fois en s’imposant sur le grand tremplin (K120 + 10km) de Val Di Fiemme le 28 février 2013.

Premier titre olympique

Eric Frenzel arrive aux Jeux de Sotchi dans la foulée d'un exploit unique : du 17 au 19 janvier 2014, devant 18 000 spectateurs enthousiastes à Seefeld (Allemagne), il remporte en effet la compétition labellisée « Triple » avec trois succès consécutifs sur 5 km, 10 km et 15 km ! Pour la presse de son pays, il devient "l’imbattable", "l'auteur d’un exploit historique", le "Roi de Seefeld", l’athlète qu’il faudra battre pour gagner dans la vallée de Krasnaïa Polyana. Large leader du classement général de la Coupe du monde, il s'élance en grand favori dans la compétition olympique tremplin normal qui démarre le 12 février sur la rampe HS106 de RusSki Gorki. Parti en tête pour les 10 km ski de fond après un bond à 103.0 m, il se détache avec le Japonais Akito Watabe puis le dépose dans le final et l'emporte avec quatre secondes d'avance. "C’est fabuleux, incroyable ! Il n’y a pas de mots pour décrire ce que je ressens. C’est le plus beau jour de ma vie", déclare-t-il alors. Il termine ensuite 10e de la compétition grand tremplin puis gagne le 20 février sa troisième médaille olympique, l'argent par équipes avec Kircheisen, Rydzek et Fabian Riessle, dernier relayeur battu au sprint par le Norvégien Jørgen Graabak.

 Record en Coupe du monde

Dans les quatre ans qui séparent les Jeux de Sotchi de ceux de PyeongChang, Eric Frenzel devient le recordman de victoires au classement de la Coupe du monde : il la remporte cinq fois consécutivement de 2013 à 2017. Il atteint les 40 victoires, dont treize dans son jardin de Seefeld, et s'adjuge cinq médailles aux Championnats du monde : l'or par équipes et l'argent en sprint en 2015 à Falun (Suède), de nouveau l'or par équipes, le titre en sprint avec Johannes Rydzek, et l'argent sur tremplin normal en 2017 à Lahti (Finlande). Mais son début de saison olympique 2017-2018 est très discret. Il est sevré de victoires et de podiums quand il arrive en République de Corée pour défendre son titre. Avant de relever le défi, il est le porte-drapeau de la délégation allemande lors de la cérémonie d'ouverture des XXIIIes Jeux d'hiver.

Démonstration de force

Le 14 février 2018 à Alpensia, Eric Frenzel ne prend le départ de la course de fond qu'en 5e position après le saut, à 36 secondes de l'Autrichien Frantz-Josef Rehrl qui a réalisé le meilleur bond. Mais l'épreuve sur 10 km tourne dans le final à une explication entre le champion allemand et Akito Watabe, comme quatre ans plus tôt à Sotchi. Frenzel porte son attaque imparable dans la très difficile montée finale. Il prend immédiatement une dizaine de secondes d’avance au moment de revenir dans le stade et il peut passer la ligne d’arrivée en roue libre, presque étonné de son immense performance. Watabe finit à presque 5 secondes, et l'Autrichien Lukas Klapfer vient prendre le bronze à 18 secondes. Eric Frenzel est le premier à conserver le titre sur tremplin normal depuis l'Allemand de l'Est Ulrich Wehling, vainqueur trois fois de suite en 1972, 1976 et 1980.

Sur tous les podiums à PyeongChang 2018

L'épreuve sur grand tremplin disputée le 20 février donne lieu à une démonstration de la patrouille allemande. Frenzel, Rydzek et Riessle, tous bien placés après le saut, attaquent en formation à 1 km du but, se détachent et se disputent la victoire au sprint : Johanne Rydzek triomphe, Fabian Riessle prend l'argent et Frenzel, le bronze. "Après une saison un peu mi-figue mi-raisin, nous avons montré que l'équipe d'Allemagne est puissante, et qu'elle est une force sur laquelle il faut compter. L'année dernière, nous avons réalisé un triplé en Coupe du monde, et nous recommençons dans le contexte olympique ! C'est sans prix", remarque le désormais quintuple médaillé olympique.

Et ce n'est pas fini ! Les Jeux de PyeongChang s'achèvent sur un grand chelem pour l'équipe d'Allemagne de combiné nordique et sur une 3e médaille d'or pour Eric Frenzel. Sur grand tremplin, l'équipe formée par Vinzenz Geiger, Fabian Riessle, Eric Frenzel et Johannes Rydzek effectue une véritable démonstration dans l'épreuve 4 x 5 km, et l'emporte avec une avance de plus de 52 secondes sur la Norvège qui était tenante du titre. "C'est une journée incroyable pour nous, spécialement après les Jeux de Sotchi, où nous avions été battus par la plus faible des marges", observe celui qui devient avec trois titres olympiques l'égal de l'Autrichien Felix Gottwald et du Finlandais Samppa Lajunen au sommet du palmarès, ses six médailles le voyant figurer juste derrière Gottwald (sept podiums entre 2002 et 2010).

À PyeongChang 2018, Eric Frenzel s'est définitivement installé à 29 ans comme un géant de sa discipline. "Nous planifions quatre années supplémentaires avec mon entraîneur Frank Erlbeck, ce qui veut dire que si je continue à performer, je prendrai un nouveau départ aux Jeux Olympiques", dit-il en mai avant de reprendre l'entraînement pour une nouvelle saison.

Plus


Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • B 23:53.3
    Ski
    Individuel LH
    O 24:51.4
    Ski
    Individuel, NH
    O 46:09.8
    Ski
    Par équipes 4x5km
  • A 47:13.8
    Ski
    Par équipes hommes
    O 23:50.2
    Ski
    Individuel hommes
  • B 49:51.1
    Ski
    Par équipes hommes


back to top En

skip to content

Eric FRENZEL

  • G 3
  • S 1
  • B 2

The giant of Nordic combined

The best Nordic combined specialist the world has seen this decade, Eric Frenzel has a record five consecutive overall World Cup wins. Between Sochi 2014 and PyeongChang 2018, he succeeded in keeping his title in the normal hill, and climbed to the very top of the Olympic records table with six medals, including three golds.

 An early start

"Jump far, ski fast" has been Eric Frenzel's motto from a very young age. His father, a Nordic combined coach, first put him on skis at the age of two, and at the top of a ski jump at age six. "He got me interested in this magnificent sport," Eric said. Junior world champion in the sprint in Tarvisio (Italy) in March 2007, he joined the FIS World Cup circuit aged 19 in the same year. But he would have to be patient and perfect his talent before reaching the top. As a young father to his son Philip, he participated in his first Winter Games in Vancouver in 2010, returning home from the ski jump and piste of Whistler with a bronze team medal won with Johannes Rydzek, Tino Edelmann and Björn Kircheisen, behind the USA (silver) and Austria (gold).

Successor to Jason Lamy-Chappuis

Eric made history for the first time in his sport by becoming world champion on the normal hill jump in Holmenkollen, Oslo, in 2011, then by taking the bronze on the large hill jump, in addition to two silver team medals. On 4 December 2011, in Lillehammer, he won the first ever penalty race held in the World Cup. During the 2012-2013 season he was flying, putting an end to the domination of Frenchman Jason Lamy-Chappuis (three-time World Cup winner) by taking six victories and winning the overall title, as well as the big Crystal Globe that comes with it. He also became individual world champion for the second time after dominating in the large hill (K120 + 10km) in Val Di Fiemme on 28 February 2013.

First Olympic title

Eric arrived at the Sochi Games just after a unique achievement: between 17 and 19 January 2014, in front of 18,000 enthusiastic spectators in Seefeld (Germany), he won the so-called “Triple” with three consecutive wins in the 5km, 10km and 15km! According to the press in his home country, the German was "unbeatable", the "King of Seefeld", with a "historic feat" to his name, and the athlete to beat to win in Krasnaya Polyana at the Sochi Games. With a significant lead in the overall World Cup standings, Eric was clear favourite for the normal hill Olympic event beginning on 12 February on the HS106 hill of the RusSki Gorki Jumping Centre. He started the 10km cross-country race in the lead after a jump of 103.0m, breaking away from the pack with Akito Watabe (Japan), whom he later dropped at the end of the course to win by four seconds. "It's amazing, incredible! There are no words to describe how I am feeling. It is the best day of my life," he said. He placed 10th in the large hill event then won his third Olympic medal on 20 February – silver in the team relay with Kircheisen, Rydzek and Fabian Riessle, after Riessle was beaten in the sprint in the anchor leg by Norway's Jørgen Graabak.

World Cup record

In the four years separating the Sochi and PyeongChang Games, Eric became a record holder for the most overall World Cup wins: he took the title five years in a row from 2013 to 2017. He has 40 victories to his name, including 13 on his home turf in Seefeld, as well as five World Championship medals: the team gold and silver in the team sprint in Falun (Sweden) in 2015, then, at the 2017 championships in Lahti (Finland), the team gold again, as well as gold in the team sprint with Johannes Rydzek and silver in the normal hill. But Eric went on to make a fairly lacklustre start to the 2017-2018 winter season. He had been deprived of victories and podium places when he arrived in South Korea to defend his title. Before taking on this challenge, he carried the flag for Germany at the Opening Ceremony of the XXIII Olympic Winter Games.

A show of strength

On 14 February 2018 in Alpensia, Eric started the cross-country leg in fifth place following the jump, 36 seconds behind the Austrian Franz-Josef Rehrl, who had performed best on the hill. But in the final stretch, the 10km race turned into a battle between the German champion and Akito Watabe, just like four years earlier in Sochi. Eric launched an unstoppable attack on the very difficult final climb. He immediately took a 10-second lead as he returned to the stadium, allowing him to take the power off as he crossed the finish line, seemingly stunned by his own immense performance. Watabe finished almost five seconds behind him, while the Austrian Lukas Klapfer crossed the line 18 seconds down to take bronze. Eric Frenzel became the first Olympian to retain the normal hill title since the East German Ulrich Wehling, who won three consecutive golds in the event in 1972, 1976 and 1980.

On every podium at PyeongChang 2018

The large hill event on 20 February turned into a demonstration of team strength from the German contingent. Eric, Rydzek and Riessle, all well placed after the jump, attacked as a group 1km from the end of the course, forming a breakaway and battling it out for victory in the sprint: Rydzek took gold and Riessle took silver, leaving Eric with the bronze. "After a so-so season, we have shown how powerful the German team is, and that it is a force to be reckoned with. Last year, we achieved a World Cup triple, and we are starting out on the same course at the Olympics! It is priceless," commented Eric, by this point the holder of five Olympic medals.

And it was not over yet! The PyeongChang Winter Games finished with a Grand Slam for the German Nordic combined team and a third gold medal for Eric. In the large hill, the team comprising Vinzenz Geiger, Riessle, Eric and Rydzek produced a standout performance in the 4 x 5km, winning with a lead of more than 52 seconds over the Norwegians, who previously held the title. "It is an incredible day for us, especially after the Sochi Games, where we were beaten by the smallest of margins," reflected Eric, for whom the win also meant a third Olympic gold, putting him at the top of the Nordic combined medals record table with Felix Gottwald (Austria) and Samppa Lajunen (Finland). His six-medal total puts him just behind Gottwald (seven podiums between 2002 and 2010).

At PyeongChang 2018, Eric Frenzel established himself, at the age of 29, as one of the giants of his discipline. "We are planning four more years with my trainer Frank Erlbeck, which means that, if I continue to perform well, I will return for the next Winter Olympics," he said in May, before resuming training ahead of the season to come.

More


Results

  • Games
    Result
    Sport
    Event
  • B 23:53.3
    Skiing
    Individual LH
    G 24:51.4
    Skiing
    Individual, NH
    G 46:09.8
    Skiing
    Team, 4x5 km
  • S 47:13.8
    Skiing
    Team men
    G 23:50.2
    Skiing
    Individual men
  • B 49:51.1
    Skiing
    Team men


back to top Fr