skip to content
JOHNSON Earvin
JOHNSON Earvin

Earvin JOHNSON

  • O 1
  • A 0
  • B 0

La magie de la Dream Team

Earvin « Magic » Johnson, star du basket professionnel  NBA, fut le leader charismatique de la Dream Team américaine qui marqua à jamais l’histoire de son sport aux Jeux Olympiques grâce à ses époustouflantes prestations à Barcelone en 1992.

Une légende du basket américain

Dans le championnat universitaire où il gagne un surnom pour la vie, « Magic », puis en NBA avec son club des Lakers de Los Angeles, Earvin Johnson devient un des plus grands meneurs de tous les temps, roi de la « passe aveugle », prince du « showtime », cinq fois vainqueur de la ligue entre 1980 et 1988, élu quatre fois meilleur joueur des finales, auteur d’un record de 10 141 passes décisive, abonné du « All star Game ». Sa grande taille (2,06m), son sens du spectacle, son visage éclairé d’un sourire radieux en font un des plus célèbres et admirés sportifs de son pays.

Le tournant de 1989

En avril 1989, le Comité International Olympique et la Fédération Internationale de Basketball parviennent à un accord pour admettre les joueurs professionnels aux Jeux. Magic devient dès lors le ciment, le leader de l’équipe américaine en construction pour Barcelone 1992. C’est lui qui convainc son vieux rival Larry Bird, tout comme la grande star du moment Michael Jordan de se joindre à l’aventure.

La Dream Team

En août 1992, dans le Palais des Sports de Badalone rempli à ras bord, ce qui constitue pour Magic, et pour une large partie du public « la meilleure, la plus excitante et la plus explosive équipe de basket de tous les temps » fait le spectacle à chacune de ses apparitions. L’équipe des USA emmenée sur et en dehors du terrain par son capitaine charismatique remporte tous ses matches, jusqu’à la finale face à la Croatie, avec un écart moyen de 43 points. L’émotion est palpable sur le podium olympique, où les joueurs de la formation baptisée pour l'histoire « Dream Team », rivaux sur les parquets de NBA, communient en voyant monter la bannière étoilée et en écoutant leur hymne la main sur le coeur. Cette équipe est une formidable source d’inspiration pour les générations futures. Dans le monde du basketball, il y a un avant et un après Dream Team. Magic Johnson en est un des principaux symboles. « Le plus grand moment de ma vie », dira-t-il.

L’après basket

Définitivement retiré des parquets à 37 ans, en 1996, Magic Johnson s’est notamment mis au service des Nations Unies en tant que Messager pour la paix, et porte-parole de la journée mondiale contre le SIDA. Il est également un prospère hommes d’affaire devenu en 2012 propriétaire de la franchise de baseball des Los Angeles Dodgers.

Plus

Galerie


Résultats



back to top

skip to content


  • G 1
  • S 0
  • B 0

The magician of the USA’s ‘Dream Team’

NBA superstar Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson was the charismatic leader of the USA’s Dream Team, which did more than any other to put basketball on the Olympic map, thanks to a series of scintillating displays at Barcelona 1992.

American basketball legend

In the college championships where he first earned the nickname of “Magic”, and then in the NBA with the Los Angeles Lakers, Earvin Johnson became one of the greatest point guards of all time. The undisputed master of the ‘blind pass’ and the king of “Showtime”, Magic was five times NBA champion between 1980 and 1988, four times NBA Finals MVP, author of a record 10,141 assists, and a regular protagonist in the NBA’s annual “All-Star Game”, the showcase for the season’s best players. Standing at a towering 2.06m, Magic’s sense of spectacle, combined with his distinctive infectious smile, made him one of the most iconic and and most admired athletes his country has ever produced.

A watershed moment

In April 1989, the International Olympic Committee and the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) reached an agreement to allow professional players to compete in the Olympic Games. From that moment on, Magic emerged as the fulcrum and the leader of the US team that was being built for Barcelona 1992. It was he who persuaded his old rival Larry Bird, and the big star of the moment Michael Jordan to sign up for Team USA’s Olympic adventure.

Living the Dream

In August 1992, the Palace of Sports in Badalona was packed to the rafters for every showstopping performance of the team that Magic himself described as “the best, most exciting and most explosive basketball team of all time”. Led on and off the court by their charismatic captain, Team USA won all of their matches, including the final against Croatia, by an average margin of 43 points. As the members of the Dream Team stepped onto the podium to receive their gold medals the emotion was palpable. These players, who were fierce rivals in the NBA, were united in patriotic pride, as the US national anthem blared out and the Stars and Stripes flag was unfurled. Their exploits at Barcelona 1992 served as a source of inspiration for future generations. Indeed, basketball history is now divided into two eras: “Before the Dream Team” and “After the Dream Team”. For Magic himself, being part of the team that took Barcelona 1992 by storm represented “the greatest moment of my life.”

Life after basketball

After retiring from competition at the age of 37 in 1996, Magic was appointed as a United Nations Peace Envoy, and a spokesperson for World AIDS Day. He is also a successful businessman, and in 2012 became owner of the Los Angeles Dodgers baseball franchise.




back to top