skip to content
FISCHER Birgit
FISCHER Birgit

Birgit FISCHER

  • O 8
  • A 4
  • B 0

Les exploits de Birgit Fischer en kayak font d’elle l’une des plus grandes athlètes olympiques de tous les temps.

Une vie faite d’exploit

À l’époque où elle sortit diplômée de son pensionnat sportif militaire Fisher était déjà la plus jeune championne de l’histoire du kayak olympique. Elle avait remporté l’or du K1 500m aux Jeux de 1980 à Moscou à 20 ans, donnant le ton à une carrière incroyable.

Domination olympique

Fischer domina le sport avec une surprenante série de victoires. Elle s’imposa aux Championnats du monde de 1981, 1982 et 1983, mais manqua Los Angeles en 1984, du fait du boycott de ces Jeux par l’Allemagne de l’Est.

Six médailles d’or olympiques

Bien qu’elle ait été battue dans la finale de l’épreuve individuelle en 1988 à Séoul, elle s’attribua l’or quelques heures plus tard dans l’épreuve en double, et de nouveau dans l’épreuve à quatre le lendemain. Elle poursuivit par l’or dans le simple et l’argent dans le quatre à Barcelone en 1992, puis l’or dans le quatre et l’argent dans le double à Atlanta en 1996. En 2000, à Sydney, Fischer obtint encore deux médailles d’or dans le quatre et le double.

Détentrice de records

À Athènes en 2004, Birgit sortit de sa retraite pour une dernière performance. À l’âge de 42 ans, elle décrocha l’or dans le quatre (K-4 500 m) et l’argent dans le double (K-2 500 m). Titulaire de 12 médailles, elle est en tête des vainqueurs de médailles dans son sport et seule Larissa Latynina, en gymnastique artistique, a gagné plus de médailles qu’elle. Elle est aussi la seule femme à avoir remporté des médailles olympiques à vingt ans d’intervalle.

Plus


Galerie

play
https://olympic-vh.akamaihd.net/i/Assets/MediaPlayer/Videos/Streaming/2014/07/word-of-olympians/014_my_olympics_birgit_fischer_fra/014_my_olympics_birgit_fischer_fra_subs_,0200,0400,0600,1200,1800,.mp4.csmil/master.m3u8

Birgit Fischer et le souvenir des Jeux de Barcelone

La kayakiste Allemande s’est constituée sur trois décennies de carrière le plus beau palmarès de son sport. Huit fois en or sur les six éditions des Jeux qu’elle a disputés, elle retient ceux de 1992 comme son plus beau souvenir.

IOC

Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • A 1:39.533
    Canoë
    K-2 500m (kayak biplace) femmes
    O 1:34.340
    Canoë
    K-4 500m (kayak à quatre) femmes
  • O
    Canoë
    K-4 500m (kayak à quatre) femmes
    O 1:56.996
    Canoë
    K-2 500m (kayak biplace) femmes
  • A 1:39.689
    Canoë
    K-2 500m (kayak biplace) femmes
    O 1:31.077
    Canoë
    K-4 500m (kayak à quatre) femmes
  • A 1:38.47
    Canoë
    K-4 500m (kayak à quatre) femmes
    O 1:51.60
    Canoë
    K-1 500m (kayak monoplace) femmes
  • O 1:43.46
    Canoë
    K-2 500m (kayak biplace) femmes
    O 1:40.78
    Canoë
    K-4 500m (kayak à quatre) femmes
    A 1:55.31
    Canoë
    K-1 500m (kayak monoplace) femmes
  • O 1:57.96
    Canoë
    K-1 500m (kayak monoplace) femmes

back to top En

skip to content
FISCHER Birgit
FISCHER Birgit

Birgit FISCHER

  • G 8
  • S 4
  • B 0

Birgit Fischer’s achievements in kayaking makes her one of the greatest Olympic athletes of all time.

A lifetime of achievement

By the time she graduated from her army sports boarding school, Fischer was already the youngest champion in the history of Olympic kayaking. She had won gold in the K1 500m at the 1980 Moscow Games aged just 20, setting the tone for her incredible career.

Olympic dominance

Fischer dominated the sport with an amazing run of victories. She won the World Championship in 1981, 1982 and 1983, only missing out at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games due to East Germany’s boycott.

Six Olympic golds

Despite being beaten in the singles final in Seoul in 1998, she won gold in the pairs hours later, and took gold in the fours the next day. She continued with singles gold and fours silver in Barcelona in 1992, then fours gold and pairs silver in Atlanta in 1996. In 2000, in Sydney, Fischer won yet another two golds in the fours and pairs.

Record holder

In Athens in 2004, Birgit came out of retirement for one last performance. Aged 42, she won the gold in the fours (K-4 500m) and silver in the double (K-2 500m). With 12, she is kayaking’s leading medal winner, and only Larissa Latynina (in artistic gymnastics) has won more Olympic medals. Fischer is also the only woman to win Olympic medals 20 years apart.

More


Gallery

play
https://olympic-vh.akamaihd.net/i/Assets/MediaPlayer/Videos/Streaming/2014/07/word-of-olympians/014_my_olympics_birgit_fischer_fra/014_my_olympics_birgit_fischer_fra_subs_,0200,0400,0600,1200,1800,.mp4.csmil/master.m3u8

Birgit Fischer - Class of her own in a kayak

Over the course of three glorious decades, German kayaker Birgit Fischer put together the finest career her sport has ever seen. Eight times a gold medallist at the six Games in which she appeared, Fischer regards Barcelona 1992 as the pinnacle of her Olympic odyssey.

IOC
Image Alt Text

SportOlympia Ankunft der Olympiateilnehmer in Frankfurt

FRANKFURT, GERMANY - AUGUST 30: Sport / Olympia: Ankunft der Olympiateilnehmer in Frankfurt; Kanu: Birgit FISCHER 30.08.04. (Photo by Alexander Heimann/Bongarts/Getty Images)
Image Alt Text

Womens K4 Flatwater 500m Medal Ceremony

ATHENS - AUGUST 27: Team Germany (gold) receives their medals during ceremonies for the women's K-4 class 500 metre event on August 27, 2004 during the Athens 2004 Summer Olympic Games at the Schinias Olympic Rowing and Canoeing Centre in Athens, Greece. (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Brigit Fischer;Maike Nollen;Katrin Wagner;Carolin Leonhardt
Image Alt Text

KANUSPORTKANU OLYMPISCHE SPIELE 2000

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 01: OLYMPISCHE SPIELE 2000, Sydney; KANURENNSPORT/KAJAK/K2/500m/FRAUEN; v.l.n.r.: Katrin WAGNER, Birgit FISCHER/GER - GOLD - (Photo by Lutz Bongarts/Bongarts/Getty Images)
Image Alt Text

K2 500m

1 Oct 2000: Birgit Fischer and Katrina Wagner of Germany celebrate their Gold Medal win in the K2 500m final at the Regatta Centre on day 14 of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia. \ Mandatory Credit: Darren England /Allsport
Image Alt Text

KANURENNSPORT OLYMPISCHE SPIELE SYDNEY 2000

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 27: OLYMPISCHE SPIELE SYDNEY 2000, Sydney; FRAUEN/KAJAK/FINALE/2er K2; GOLD fuer Birgit FISCHER und Katrin WAGNER/GER (Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Bongarts/Getty Images)

Results

  • Games
    Result
    Sport
    Event
  • S 1:39.533
    Canoe
    K-2 500m (kayak double) women
    G 1:34.340
    Canoe
    K-4 500m (kayak four) women
  • G
    Canoe
    K-4 500m (kayak four) women
    G 1:56.996
    Canoe
    K-2 500m (kayak double) women
  • S 1:39.689
    Canoe
    K-2 500m (kayak double) women
    G 1:31.077
    Canoe
    K-4 500m (kayak four) women
  • S 1:38.47
    Canoe
    K-4 500m (kayak four) women
    G 1:51.60
    Canoe
    K-1 500m (kayak single) women
  • G 1:43.46
    Canoe
    K-2 500m (kayak double) women
    G 1:40.78
    Canoe
    K-4 500m (kayak four) women
    S 1:55.31
    Canoe
    K-1 500m (kayak single) women
  • G 1:57.96
    Canoe
    K-1 500m (kayak single) women

back to top Fr