skip to content
BOUKPETI Benjamin
BOUKPETI Benjamin

Benjamin BOUKPETI

  • O 0
  • A 0
  • B 1

Le premier médaillé olympique du Togo

C’est en France que Benjamin Boukpeti est né, s’est entraîné et a construit sa vie, mais c’est pour le Togo, son autre patrie, qu’il a remporté une médaille de bronze historique en K-1 lors des Jeux de Beijing.

La Marne pour débuter

Né à Lagny-sur-Marne dans la grande banlieue de Paris d’un père togolais et d’une mère française, Benjamin Boukpeti y fait sa scolarité et s'inscrit à 10 ans dans le club de canoë-kayak de sa ville où il peut s’adonner au kayak slalom sur le fleuve qui la traverse. L’ambiance lui plait instantanément, et nait en lui la volonté de progresser dans l’idée de pouvoir rivaliser avec les meilleurs, dans un pays à forte densité de pagayeurs de haut niveau international.

Toulouse, le Togo, les Jeux...

Benjamin rejoint la ville de Toulouse pour s’entraîner et suivre des études à la faculté. Sa progression est freinée par des blessures aux épaules le contraignant à subir deux interventions chirurgicales, et il décide en 2003 de représenter le Togo dans les grandes compétitions internationales. Il s’implique dès lors dans le développement de sa discipline sur le continent de ses ancêtres paternels, et gagne sa sélection pour les Jeux d’Athènes 2004. Seul représentant africain sur le bassin d’eaux-vives d’Helliniko, il atteint les demi-finales du K-1 et prend la 18e place au final.

Un bronze historique

« Sur cette olympiade, je me lance un double défi : obtenir un Master en management d’entreprise et être finaliste aux Jeux de Beijing », explique-t-il après Athènes. Une fois la première partie de ce défi accomplie, Benjamin Boukpeti commence par être le porte-drapeau du Togo lors de la Cérémonie d’ouverture, le 8 août 2008 dans le Stade National. Quatre jours plus tard, il signe le meilleur temps des demi-finales du K-1 dans les eaux déchaînées du bassin de Shunyi. A l’issue de son « run » final, il décroche la médaille de bronze derrière l’Allemand Alexander Grimm (or) et le Français Fabien Lefèvre (argent). L’image du premier médaillé olympique de l’histoire du Togo, hurlant de joie en brandissant sa pagaye qu’il vient de casser en deux dans l’aire d’arrivée, fait le tour du monde.

Développement en Afrique

« Benji» dispute encore les Jeux de Londres en 2012, où il parvient à se hisser en finale du K-1 pour se classer 10e. Il retourne dans la foulée au Togo afin d’y poursuivre son projet de développement de sa discipline, mais pas seulement, puisqu’il anime un camp sportif avec 300 enfants initiés à la pratique de huit sports olympiques, dont bien sûr le canoë-kayak. Il est membre de l’Association des Comités Olympiques Africains (ACNOA) en charge de la zone 3 qui regroupe les pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest.

Plus


Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • B
    Canoë
    K-1 (kayak monoplace) hommes


back to top

skip to content


  • G 0
  • S 0
  • B 1

Navigating uncharted waters for Togo

Born, raised and trained in France, slalom canoeist Benjamin Boukpeti opted to represent Togo, the country of his father, and claimed a historic first ever Olympic medal for the West African nation in the K-1 at the 2008 Games in Beijing.

Rapids progress

Born in Lagny-sur-Marne in the suburbs of Paris to a Togolese father and a French mother, Benjamin Boukpeti enrolled at the local canoe and kayak club at the age of 10, where he was able to hone his slalom skills on the local river. Like his older brother, Olivier, who also went on to represent France, he fell in love with the sport, making rapid progress and set himself the challenge of competing at the highest level.

From Toulouse to Togo

Boukpeti relocated to the city of Toulouse to study at the local university and continue his canoe training. His progress in the latter was interrupted by a series of shoulder injuries that required two operations. Born in a country that boasted a large number of top international canoeists, in 2003 Boukpeti made the bold decision to represent Togo. From that point on, he devoted himself to the development of his discipline in Africa, and qualified to represent his adopted country at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens. The sole African competing at Olympic Whitewater Stadium in Helliniko, he reached the semi-finals of the K-1 and finished 18th in the final rankings.

A historic bronze

“I’ve set myself two objectives for the next Olympic cycle: to gain an MBA and reach the final at the Games in Beijing,” Boukpeti explained after Athens. Having achieved the first, he was then chosen to be the flag-bearer for Togo during the Opening Ceremony on 8 August 2008 at Beijing’s National Stadium. Four days later, at the Shunyi Olympic Rowing-Canoeing Park, he recorded the best time in the K-1 semi-finals. By the end of his final run, he had secured the bronze medal behind Germany’s Alexander Grimm (gold) and France’s Fabien Lefèvre (silver). The ecstatic image of Togo’s first ever Olympic medallist brandishing the paddle that he had just snapped in two after crossing the finish, captured the hearts of people around the world.

Flying the flag for Africa

“Benji” was back in Olympic action at London 2012, again reaching the K-1 final, and this time finishing 10th overall. Then it was back to Togo in order to focus on his project to develop kayaking in the country, and he also set up a sports camp, which gives several hundred kids every year the chance to try their hand at eight different Olympic sports, including, of course, canoeing. He is a member of the Association of African Olympic Committees (ANOCA), where he is responsible for Zone 3, covering West Africa. He is also one of 54 former and current athletes chosen by Peace and Sport to be one of their “Champions for Peace”.



  • Games
  • B
    K-1 (kayak single) men

back to top