skip to content
Badminton

Mixtes



L’histoire du badminton possède incontestablement une dimension cosmopolite ! Si les règles modernes ont été développées en Angleterre, les pays asiatiques ont aujourd'hui la mainmise sur ce sport.

Badminton House

Le badminton tire son nom de la demeure (house) de Badminton, propriété du Duc de Beaufort, située dans le comté anglais du Gloucestershire. En 1873, le Duc aurait importé une version de ce jeu venue d’Inde, le Poona, à laquelle il aurait ensuite initié ses invités.

Le jeu s’organise

Le badminton gagne vite en popularité. Dès 1877, les premières règles écrites sont mises au point par le Club de badminton de Bath, nouvellement créé. La Fédération anglaise de badminton est fondée 16 ans plus tard. En 1899, le premier Championnat d’Angleterre est organisé.

Histoire olympique

Le badminton fait ses débuts comme sport de démonstration aux Jeux Olympiques de 1972 à Munich. Il faut attendre les Jeux de 1992 à Barcelone pour qu’il entre officiellement au programme olympique, avec des épreuves de simple et de double, hommes et femmes. L’épreuve de double mixte fait son entrée en 1996 aux Jeux Olympiques d’Atlanta. Depuis, le nombre d’épreuves reste inchangé.

Bien que la création du badminton moderne soit attribuée à l’Angleterre, c’est l’Asie qui domine aujourd’hui ce sport. Entre 1992 et 2008, les pays asiatiques ont gagné 69 des 76 médailles décernées en compétition olympique ! Les trois pays dominants sont la Chine, l’Indonésie et la République de Corée, suivis de la Grande-Bretagne et du Danemark.

Plus


Galerie

play
https://olympic-vh.akamaihd.net/i/Assets/MediaPlayer/Videos/Streaming/2016/08/rio/20/badminton-men-single/badminton-men-single_,0200,0400,0600,1200,1800,.mp4.csmil/master.m3u8

Badminton - Simple hommes - Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016

Les grands moments du badminton lors de l'épreuve simple hommes le Jour 15 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Riocentro - Pavillon 4, le 20 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
IOC
Badminton - Simple femmes
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Simple femmes

L'Espagnole Carolina Marin lors du match pour la médaille d'or de badminton simples femmes le Jour 14 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Riocentro - Pavillon 4, le 19 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Simple femmes
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Simple femmes

L'Indienne V. Sindhu Pusarla lors du match pour la médaille d'or de badminton simples femmes le Jour 14 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Riocentro - Pavillon 4, le 19 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Double hommes
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Double hommes

Les Chinois Nan Zhang et Haifeng Fu lors du match pour la médaille d'or de badminton doubles hommes le Jour 14 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Riocentro - Pavillon 4, le 19 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Simple femmes
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Simple femmes

L'Espagnole Carolina Marin lors du match pour la médaille d'or de badminton simples femmes le Jour 14 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Riocentro - Pavillon 4, le 19 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Simple femmes
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Simple femmes

Les supporters espagnols applaudissent Carolina Marin lors du match pour la médaille d'or de badminton simples femmes le Jour 14 des Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016 au Riocentro - Pavillon 4, le 19 août 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.
Getty Images
Plus

back to top En

skip to content
Badminton


Badminton has a cosmopolitan history. The rules of the modern game were developed in England, but it is now Asian countries that dominate the sport.

Badminton House

Badminton takes its name from Badminton House - home of the Duke of Beaufort in the English county of Gloucestershire. In 1873, the Duke is credited with bringing a version of the game – Poona - back from India and introducing it to his guests.

Getting organised

The sport quickly grew in popularity and in 1877 the first set of written rules were devised by the newly formed Bath Badminton Club. The Badminton Federation of England was created 16 years later and in 1899 it organised the first All England Championships.

Olympic history

Badminton made its debut as a demonstration sport at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich. It was not until the 1992 Games in Barcelona that it was officially included on the Olympic programme, with men’s and women’s singles and doubles events. The mixed doubles event made its debut in 1996 at the Atlanta Olympic Games. Since then, the number of events has remained unchanged.

Although the creation of modern badminton is attributed to England, it is Asia that now dominates this sport. Between 1992 and 2008, Asian countries won 69 of the 76 medals available in Olympic competition! The dominant countries are China, Indonesia and the Republic of Korea, followed by Great Britain and Denmark.

More


Gallery

Badminton - Doubles Men
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Doubles Men

Nan Zhang and Haifeng Fu of People's Republic of China during the Men's Badminton Doubles Gold Medal Match on Day 14 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Riocentro - Pavilion 4 on August 19, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Singles Women
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Singles Women

Carolina Marin of Spain during the Women's Singles Gold Medal Match on Day 14 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Riocentro - Pavilion 4 on August 19, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Singles Women
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Singles Women

Spain fans cheer on Carolina Marin of Spain during the Women's Singles Gold Medal Match against V. Sindhu Pusarla of India on Day 14 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Riocentro - Pavilion 4 on August 19, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Singles Women
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Singles Women

V. Sindhu Pusarla of India (Silver), Carolina Marin of Spain (Gold) and Nozomi Okuhara of Japan (Bronze) celebrate during the medal ceremony after the Women's Singles Badminton competition on Day 14 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Riocentro - Pavilion 4 on August 19, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Doubles Men
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Doubles Men

V Shem Goh and Wee Kiong Tan of Malaysia (Silver), Haifeng Fu and Nan Zhang of China (Gold), and Marcus Ellis and Chris Langridge of Great Britain (Bronze) stand on the podium during the medal ceremony after the Men's Badminton Doubles competition on Day 14 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Riocentro - Pavilion 4 on August 19, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
Badminton - Doubles Men
Image Alt Text

Badminton - Doubles Men

Shem V Goh and Wee Kiong Tan of Malaysia during the Men's Badminton Doubles Gold Medal Match on Day 14 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Riocentro - Pavilion 4 on August 19, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Getty Images
More

back to top Fr