Emma Terho (Finland, ice hockey) and Kikkan Randall (USA, cross-country skiing) have been elected to the IOC Athletes’ Commission by their fellow athletes at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

A record 83.86% of PyeongChang athletes made their way to the voting booths in the Athlete365 Space to cast their votes, with Terho receiving 1,045 votes, followed by Randall with 831.

Terho represented Finland in five Olympic Winter Games, winning bronze at Nagano 1998 and Vancouver 2010. Randall, meanwhile, is currently competing in her fifth Winter Games in PyeongChang and earlier this week won the USA’s first-ever Olympic gold medal in cross-country skiing, after topping the podium in the team sprint event alongside Jessica Diggins. Both back their sporting pedigree with extensive experience in representing athletes.

Following approval by the IOC Session, Terho and Randall also have the possibility to become IOC Members for an eight-year term, representing their fellow Olympians on the IOC Athletes’ Commission, which serves as a link between the athletes and the IOC.

They will replace current Athletes’ Commission Chair Angela Ruggiero and Adam Pengilly, whose terms are finishing following their election at the Olympic Winter Games Vancouver 2010.

All 2,930 athletes competing in PyeongChang were eligible to vote and had six candidates to choose from, representing three continents and five different sports. They were asked to cast votes for two different athletes from two different sports.

Prior to the start of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018, Kirsty Coventry was appointed as the incoming Chair of the Athletes’ Commission following a vote of confidence from her fellow members.

Coventry has been a member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission since 2012, and has played a significant role in developing the Commission’s new strategy, which was presented by the current Chair, Angela Ruggiero, at the International Athletes’ Forum last November.

Also confirmed at the meeting was the appointment of Danka Bartekova as the Vice Chair of the Commission. Bartekova has been instrumental in the delivery of Athlete365, a new overarching brand that brings together all the IOC athlete-focused communication strands.


Name Country Gender Sport Votes
Astrid Uhrenholdt JACOBSEN NOR F Skiing 808
Ander MIRAMBELL SPA M Bobsleigh 664
Kikkan RANDALL USA F Skiing 831
Emma TERHO FIN F Ice Hockey 1,045
Hong ZHANG CHN F Speed Skating 787
Armin ZOEGGELER ITA M Luge 761