对运动员而言开创性的一年

际奥委会运动员委员会(AC)主席Kirsty Coventry顾了2019年的关键里程碑,在这一年中,国际奥委会推出了一些激动人心的新计划,在国际奥委会运动员委员会的推动下直接为运动员提供了有力支持,并强化了全球运动员代表网络。 

  • Kirsty指出,国际奥委会扩大了对运动员的支持,并强化了全球运动员代表网络,这是过去一年的主要亮点。  
  • 还回顾了有史以来规模最大的国际运动员论坛的成功之处以及由其促成的各项举措。 
  • Kirsty的任期将于8月的2020东京奥运会上结束,届时将选出新任国际奥委会运动员委员会主席和四名新成员。 

 

尊敬的运动员们: 

2019年对我们运动员群体而言是开创性的一年。 

这一年没有奥运会赛事,也没有要争夺的奥运奖牌,但由于国际奥委会运动员委员会牵头开展了若干旨在增强运动员代表权能和支持运动员的举措及活动,全球运动员代表网络变得更加强大和团结。  

际运动员论坛 

我们去年最重要的活动就是4月举行的国际运动员论坛,这次活动真的给我们带来了很大的动力。2019年国际运动员论坛是有史以来规模最大的运动员代表集会,350多名运动员代表(包括首次参加本活动的各国奥委会代表)参加了我们在洛桑举行的为期三天的论坛,并通过建设性对话提出了9条旨在加强运动员在奥林匹克运动中代表性的关键建议。   

最重要的建议当属每届奥林匹克运动会将向各国奥委会运动员委员会提供1000万美元的国际奥委会直接拨款——而我们已经兑现了自己的承诺。从现在起,你的国家奥委会可以申请每年10000美元的奥林匹克团结基金拨款,以资助你的委员会开展各项活动,或获得组织选举和成立委员会所需的经费。我们将继续通过一系列资源最佳做法范例,向运动员委员会网络提供其他形式的支持。  

我们还在论坛上组织了一次具有里程碑意义的心理健康问题讨论,而且我们将通过10月世界精神卫生日前后的一项活动继续开展这一重要对话,国际奥委会心理健康工作组目前正在研究如何为运动员提供更多支持。 

新的伙伴关系,新的机遇 

这并非我们在2019年发起的唯一一项激动人心的举措。由于缔结了很多项新的合作伙伴关系,Athlete365现在正在以多种方式对世界各地运动员的生活产生切实的影响。  

最近,我们与爱彼迎合作,为你提供新的创收机会。通过爱彼迎奥林匹克运动员体验项目,你(运动员和奥运选手)可以通过做自己热爱的事并与他人分享而获得报酬。如有兴趣成为体验达人,请点击此处注册。  

我们去年还推出了Athlete365企业加速器。该计划是我们与尤努斯体育中心(Yunus Sports Hub)之间创新合作的成果,并由奥林匹克团结基金提供资金支持。通过该计划,我们向大家免费提供了长达10小时的专家讲授在线创业课程,你还有机会参加在你所在地区举办的研讨班,以提升你的商务技能。前两期研讨班已在美国和新西兰举行,取得了巨大成功。共有来自8个国家的23名运动员企业家参与其中,其中一些杰出的参与者(如墨西哥前铁人三项选手Eligio Cervantes)还有资格获得持续指导。今年,我们将扩大此计划并举办更多期研讨班,敬请密切关注。   

职业转型、双重职业和运动员就业能力是2019年Athlete365 Career+论坛的主要关注焦点,该论坛于11月3日和4日在纽约普莱西德湖举行,迎来了来自47个国家的100名与会者。该论坛的主要目标是确定Athlete365 Career+如何以最好的方式帮助运动员进行职业转型,并拓宽就业之路。讨论的重点是各利益相关方如何为实现这一目标作出贡献,以及如何充分利用大家能为劳动力市场带来的特有技能。通过与The Adecco Group开展合作,去年我们还为大家提供了招聘专家坐镇的{免费2小时职业咨询会。此外,在2019年,27个国家奥委会和2个国际单项体育联合会与Adecco合作举办了43次外联研讨班,1,693名运动员参加了这些研讨班。 

保障运动员的权利 

在整个2019年,我们还为全球的弱势运动员群体提供了支持。  

例如,国际奥委会暂停对国际拳击协会的认证之后,我们率先在2020年东京奥运会之前与拳击运动员进行沟通,推出了Athlete365 Boxing和In Your Corner,这是备战东京奥运会的拳击专用门户网站。携手国际奥委会拳击工作小组,我们成立了运动员大使小组,以在整个过程中与拳击运动员保持交流并促进传达运动员的意见。 

2019年,多位运动员还选择了自己的国际奥委会奖牌重新颁发仪式,这是国际奥委会运动员委员会所提出的一项倡议的结果,旨在给予运动员机会,选择自己的重新颁奖仪式。这些都收录在奥林匹克频道最近推出的系列节目《登上领奖台》中,该节目将让观众了解曾经被剥夺其正当的领奖仪式权利的运动员,并让他们有机会发表获奖感言。   

这些举措得到了《运动员权利与责任宣言》的支持。去年的重点是在国家奥委会和国际单项体育联合会中执行2018年发布的《运动员宣言》,世界赛艇联合会在国际运动员论坛上介绍了如何遵守的最佳做法范例。这一进程将持续到2020年,而且我们最近为指导委员会任命了两名新成员——Tim Lodge和Douwe de Vries,以对指导委员会的现有成员进行补充,并为其带来新的想法。  

国际奥委会运动员委员会在2019年举行的所有协调委员会会议、每届奥运会(2020年东京奥运会、2022年北京奥运会和2024年巴黎奥运会)和青年奥运会(2020年洛桑奥运会和2022年达喀尔奥运会),以及评选2026年冬季奥运会主办国的评估委员会上代表运动员发表意见。运动员委员会成员还参加了全年与各利益相关方举行的多场会议,如世界反兴奋剂机构运动员委员会、基金会理事会和执行委员会会议、世界反兴奋剂机构专题研讨会、欧盟体育论坛、心理健康共识会议以及电竞论坛,以确保运动员的观点在奥林匹克运动的主要议题和决定中得到体现。  

诚团结,更加强大 

去年,我们与运动员举行了季度电话会议和磋商,以讨论最紧迫的运动员问题,包括第40条第50条基于性别认同的包容性和非歧视性,以及反兴奋剂和俄罗斯反兴奋剂机构案。由于定期开展沟通,全球运动员代表网络比以往任何时候都更强大,掌握的信息更丰富、联系更紧密,并且能够占据有利地位,继续倡导在2020年取得新进展。  

2019年,大洋洲和 欧洲还举办了两场由奥林匹克团结基金资助的大陆运动员论坛,让运动员代表齐聚一堂,讨论重要议题。这些论坛鼓励运动员分享经验,并积极讨论如何能够开展更多行动以帮助本国的运动员,并与大陆运动员委员会和国际奥委会运动员委员会开展交流。  

“以运动员为中心的体育”是去年10月在洛桑举行的2019年国际单项体育联合会论坛的主题,论坛聚集了来自世界各地的体育领袖,探讨将运动员置于策略核心的颠覆性优势。 

有效交流  

基于Athlete365的交流策略,我们还在去年举行的15次国际竞赛和洲际运动会上,与12,300名运动员和随行人员进行了面对面交流,包括明斯克欧洲运动会(白俄罗斯)、利马泛美运动会(秘鲁)、萨摩亚太平洋运动会、摩洛哥全非运动会和多哈世界海滩运动会(卡塔尔) ,收集了关于多个关键问题的反馈意见。 

展望未来 

齐心协力备战2020年东京奥运会,届时我的任期将结束,我们将选举出新任国际奥委会运动员委员会主席和四名新成员。我们最近欣然公布了国际奥委会运动员委员会选举的30名候选人完整名单(代表30个国家和19项夏季运动),我迫不及待地想看到四名新当选成员将给我们的委员会带来的活力和创想。为数众多的高素质候选人表明了运动员代表的工作和参与的价值,以及运动员对参与塑造奥林匹克运动的热情。  

我希望大家也能和我一样为即将到来的一年而感到兴奋,祝大家好运,希望大家能够实现自己在体育场内外的目标。如果对我们的委员会有任何反馈或问题,请随时联系我们:athlete365@olympic.org。 

 

本着奥林匹克精神, 

Kristy Coventry Signature

 

 

 


Kirsty Coventry

A ground-breaking year for athletes

IOC Athletes’ Commission (AC) Chair Kirsty Coventry reflects on the key milestones of 2019, which saw the launch of some exciting new IOC programmes, driven by the IOC AC, to directly support athletes, and a strengthening of the global network of athlete representatives. 

  • Kirsty points to the expansion of IOC support to athletes and the strengthening of the global network of athlete representatives as the major highlights of the past year.  
  • She also reflects on the success of the biggest-ever International Athletes’ Forum and the measures that resulted from it. 
  • Kirsty’s term will end in August at Tokyo 2020, when a new IOC AC Chair and four new members will be elected. 

 

Dear Athletes, 

2019 was a ground-breaking year for our community. 

There may have been no edition of the Olympic Games and no Olympic medals at stake, but the global network of athlete representatives has emerged stronger and more united as a result of a number of initiatives and events, led by the IOC Athletes’ Commission, which are designed to empower athlete representatives and support athletes.  

International Athletes’ Forum 

Our most important event last year, and one which really gave us a lot of momentum, was the International Athletes’ Forum in April. The 2019 edition was the biggest-ever gathering of athlete representatives, with more than 350 athlete representatives – including, for the first time, representatives from National Olympic Committees (NOCs) – joining us in Lausanne for three days of constructive dialogue that resulted in nine key recommendations designed to strengthen athlete representation in the Olympic Movement.   

The headline recommendation was that USD 10 million in direct IOC funding per Olympiad would be provided to NOC Athletes’ Commissions – and we have already delivered on our promise. From now, your NOC can apply for a USD 10,000 yearly Olympic Solidarity grant to fund your Commission’s activities, or to access the funding required to organise elections and establish a commission. We will continue to provide other means of support to the AC network through a suite of resources and best-practice examples.  

We also organised a landmark discussion on mental health at the Forum, and we continued this important conversation with a campaign around World Mental Health Day in October, with the IOC Mental Health Working Group now looking at ways to provide greater support to athletes. 

New partnerships, new opportunities 

This exciting initiative is not the only one that we launched in 2019. As a result of several new partnerships, Athlete365 is now making a tangible difference to athletes’ lives around the world in a number of ways.  

Most recently, we partnered with Airbnb to provide you with the opportunity to create new revenue streams. Through Airbnb Olympic Experiences, you (athletes and Olympians) can get paid to do what you love and share it with others. Register your interest in becoming an Experience host here.  

We also launched the Athlete365 Business Accelerator last year. Through this programme, the result of an innovative partnership with the Yunus Sports Hub and funded by Olympic Solidarity, we have offered you a free, 10-hour expert-led online course on entrepreneurship, with the opportunity to attend a workshop held in your continent to enhance your business skills. The first two workshops have already been held in the USA and New Zealand, with great success. They were attended by a combined total of 23 athlete-entrepreneurs from eight countries, with standout participants – such as Mexican former triathlete Eligio Cervantes – eligible to receive on-going mentoring. Keep an eye out for more workshops this year as we expand the programme.   

Career transition, dual career and athlete employability were the key focuses at the 2019 Athlete365 Career+ Forum on 3 and 4 November, as 100 participants from 47 countries headed to Lake Placid in New York. The main objective of the Forum was identifying how Athlete365 Career+ can best help you to transition from your sporting career into the wider workplace. Discussions focused on how the various stakeholders involved can contribute to achieving this objective and best utilise the unique skills that you can bring to the labour market. Through our partnership with The Adecco Group, last year we also offered you a free two-hour career advice session with a recruitment expert. Additionally, delivered with Adecco, 43 Outreach workshops were held in 2019 by 27 NOCs and 2 IFs, reaching 1,693 athletes. 

Promoting athletes’ rights 

Throughout 2019, we also supported some of the more vulnerable athlete groups in our global community.  

For example, in the wake of the suspension of AIBA’s recognition by the IOC, we have taken the lead on communicating with boxers in the build-up to Tokyo 2020 by launching Athlete365 Boxing and In Your Corner, the boxing-exclusive portal on the road to Tokyo. In collaboration with the IOC Boxing Task Force, we created an Athlete Ambassadors Group to liaise with boxers and promote the athletes’ voice throughout this process. 

2019 also saw athletes choose their IOC medal reallocation ceremonies, the result of an IOC AC initiative that gave athletes the opportunity to decide what their reallocation ceremony would look like. This has been documented in a recent Olympic Channel series, Take the Podium, giving a voice and an audience to those who have previously been denied their rightful ceremonies.   

These initiatives have been underpinned by the Athletes’ Rights and Responsibilities Declaration. Last year was about implementing the Athletes’ Declaration, which was launched in 2018, among NOCs and International Federations – with World Rowing presenting a best-practice example of how to do this at the International Athletes’ Forum. This process will continue into 2020, and we recently appointed two new members to our Steering Committee – Tim Lodge and Douwe de Vries – to complement and add fresh ideas to the existing membership.  

The IOC AC has been representing the voice of the athletes at all Coordination Commission meetings held in 2019, for each edition of the Olympic Games (Tokyo 2020, Beijing 2022 and Paris 2024) and the Youth Olympic Games (Lausanne 2020 and Dakar 2022), as well as the Evaluation Commission for selecting the host for the Olympic Winter Games 2026. AC members have also attended numerous meetings with various stakeholders throughout the year, such as the WADA Athlete Committee, Foundation Board and Executive Committee meetings, the WADA Symposium, the EU Sport Forum, the Consensus Meeting on Mental Health and the Esports Forum, ensuring that the athletes’ viewpoint is represented in key topics and decisions in the Olympic Movement.  

Stronger together 

Last year, we held quarterly conference calls and consultations with athletes to discuss the most pressing athlete issues, including Rule 40Rule 50inclusion and non-discrimination based on gender identity, and anti-doping and the Russian WADA case. As a result of this regular communication, the global network of athlete representatives has never been stronger or better informed and connected, and is in a strong position to continue to advocate for further progress in 2020.  

In 2019 there were also two continental Athletes’ Forums, held in Oceania and Europe and funded by Olympic Solidarity, to bring athlete representatives together to discuss important topics. During these Forums, athletes were encouraged to share their experiences and actively discuss how they could do more to help the athletes in their own countries and engage with the continental Athletes’ Commissions and IOC AC.  

“Athlete-Centred Sport” was the theme of the IF Forum 2019, which took place in Lausanne last October and brought together sports leaders from around the world to explore the game-changing benefits of placing athletes at the heart of their strategies. 

Effective engagement  

Building on the Athlete365 Engagement Strategy, we also engaged with 12,300 athletes and entourage members in person at 15 international competitions and continental games last year, including the European Games in Minsk (Belarus), the Pan-American Games in Lima (Peru), the Pacific Games in Samoa, the All Africa Games in Morocco and the World Beach Games in Doha (Qatar), gathering feedback on a number of key issues. 

Looking ahead 

All roads lead to Tokyo 2020, when my term will come to an end and we will elect a new IOC AC Chair along with four new members. We were recently delighted to announce the full list of 30 candidates for that IOC Athletes’ Commission election – representing 30 countries and 19 summer sports – and I can’t wait to see the energy and ideas that the four members you elect will bring to our Commission. The large number of high-quality candidates demonstrates the value of the work and involvement of athlete representatives, and the interest athletes have in being involved in shaping the Olympic Movement.  

I hope you share my excitement for the year ahead, and I wish you all the very best of luck with your sporting and non-sporting goals. Should you have any feedback or questions for our Commission, please feel free to contact us at athlete365@olympic.org

 

In the Olympic spirit, 

Kristy Coventry Signature

 

 

 


Kirsty Coventry