The International Olympic Committee (IOC) Executive Board today approved the candidatures of six winter sports athletes for the IOC Athletes’ Commission elections, which will be held during the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 next February.

The candidates* are: Astrid Uhrenholdt JACOBSEN (NOR) (skiing/cross-country); Ander MIRAMBELL (ESP) (skeleton); Kikkan RANDALL (USA) (skiing/cross-country); Emma TERHO (FIN) (ice hockey); Hong ZHANG (CHN) (skating/speed-skating); and Armin ZOEGGELER (ITA) (luge).

Welcoming this approval, current Chair of the Commission Angela Ruggiero said: “I am delighted with the calibre of candidates running for a place in the IOC Athletes’ Commission. I have every confidence in each candidate to strongly represent athletes in the Olympic Movement and continue the excellent work of the IOC Athletes’ Commission to date. I wish all of them the best of luck, and urge all Olympians competing in PyeongChang next year to vote for the candidates they wish to represent them on the IOC.”

Nominated by their respective National Olympic Committees (NOCs), the candidates vying for two available positions originate from three continents and represent five different sports.

Two seats on the Commission will become available in 2018, with current Chair Angela Ruggiero and member Adam Pengilly finishing their terms of office next February. All athletes participating in the next Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang will be eligible to vote for their preferred candidates. After approval by the IOC Session, the two elected Olympians will become IOC Members for an eight-year term.

Find the list of candidates (*in alphabetical order) and their biographies here.

IOC nominates six representatives to form the Election Committee

Six representatives have been nominated by the IOC President to form the Election Committee to oversee the IOC Athletes’ Commission election. The Committee is composed of: Nicole Hoevertsz (Chair of the IOC Election Committee and representing the IOC Legal Affairs Commission); Pierre-Olivier Beckers-Vieujant (representing the IOC Ethics Commission); James Tomkins (representing the IOC Athletes’ Commission); Dagmawit Girmay Berhane (representing the IOC Members Election Commission); Ivo Ferriani (representing the Association of International Olympic Winter Federations (AIOWF)); and Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski (representing ANOC).

The Election Committee will be responsible for ensuring that the procedures and regulations are followed at all times as well as certifying the final vote count.