Six new representatives join the IAAF Athletes’ Commission

The IAAF Athletes’ Commission held its elections during the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019. Following these elections, six new athletes have been elected onto the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

Over 1,800 accredited athletes were invited to vote in the elections, which took place during the event in the official team hotels.

Among the newly elected members are Olympic champions, Renaud Lavillenie (Pole Vault), Valerie Adams (Shot Put) and Katerina Stefanidi (Pole Vault).

They will join the Commission alongside Bernard Lagat (Distance Running), Kevin Borlee (400m) and Aisha Praught-Leer (Middle Distance).

These six athletes will join the existing Athletes’ Commission members, who will complete their terms in 2021. Those include Inaki Gomez (Canada), Kim Collins (Saint Kitts and Nevis), Adam Kszczot (Poland), Thomas Rohler (Germany), Ivana Spanovic (Serbia) and Benita Willis (Australia).

Under the 2019 IAAF Constitution, the Chairperson and one other member of the Athletes’ Commission (one male and one female) will be full voting members of the IAAF Council.

IAAF President Sebastian Coe thanked Gomez for chairing the Athletes’ Commission emphasising the importance of athlete involvement within IAAF decision-making.

“I would like to thank Inaki Gomez for chairing the Athletes’ Commission over the last two years and for his very significant contribution to the Council,” President Coe said. “In that time we have driven through a range of tough decisions that have been in part shaped by Inaki’s sound advice and collaborative approach.”

In addition to the elected members of the Athletes’ Commission, the IAAF Council may also appoint up to six more athletes to the Commission.

The newly elected members are:

  • Renaud Lavillenie (France)
  • Valerie Adams (New Zealand)
  • Bernard Lagat (United States of America)
  • Kevin Borlee (Belgium)
  • Katerina Stefanidi (Greece)
  • Aisha Praught-Leer (Jamaica).

Athletes are encouraged to register their interest through their member federation and submit their applications by 18 October 2019.