skip to content

Arianna FONTANA

  • O 1
  • A 2
  • B 5

La plus grande olympienne du short track

Plus jeune médaillée italienne aux Jeux d'hiver, à 15 ans en 2006, Arianna Fontana touche enfin l'or à sa quatrième participation, à l'arrivée du 500 m des Jeux de PyeongChang 2018 où elle obtient trois médailles pour devenir, avec un total de huit podiums, la plus décorée de toutes les patineuses de vitesse sur piste courte.

Pas de limites

Le 10 décembre 2017, Arianna Fontana, désignée porte-drapeau de la délégation italienne pour les Jeux de PyeongChang, poste sur Instagram une photo d'elle enfant, avec les patins, la combinaison, les genouillères et le casque de short-track, et écrit : "Je me souviens très précisément de l'instant où j'ai décidé de suivre ma passion. C'est aisé de s'en souvenir parce que j'ai repensé à ce moment à chaque fois que l'on a douté de moi, que l'on m'a dit que je n'y arriverai pas. C'est dans ces moments que j'ai trouvé la force et la motivation pour aller de l'avant et pour réaliser qu'il n'y avait aucune limite, seulement notre imagination. Les limites posées par d'autres personnes ne sont ni pour moi ni pour ceux qui restent impliqués dans leur vision." Née à Sondrio, dans la Valtellina (Lombardie), Arianna Fontana débute dans sa discipline dès l'âge de quatre ans, en suivant les pas de son grand frère. Son talent précoce la voit débuter en équipe d'Italie à 15 ans et monter d'entrée sur trois podiums (500 m, 1500 m et 3000 m) pour se classer deuxième toutes distances aux Championnats d'Europe disputés à Krynica-Zdrój (Pologne). En route pour les Jeux de Turin 2006 !

La plus jeune médaillée italienne aux Jeux d'hiver

Sur la glace du Palavela de Turin, devant son public, Arianna Fontana est éliminée en quarts de finale du 500 m puis en demi-finale du 1000 m où elle dispute la finale B pour se classer 3e de la course et 6e de l'épreuve. Et le 22 février 2006, elle est en finale du relais 3000 m avec Marta Capruso, Katia Zini et Mara Zini. La République de Corée du Sud l'emporte, la Chine est disqualifiée, le Canada prend l'argent et l'Italie le bronze. À 15 ans et 314 jours, Arianna Fontana est la plus jeune médaillée olympique de son pays aux Jeux Olympiques d'hiver. Ainsi, l'adolescente est élevée au rang de chevalière de l'Ordre du mérite de la République italienne.

Grande première pour l'Italie à Vancouver 2010

Décidée à tout faire pour tenter de combler l'écart technique qui la sépare des meilleures patineuses coréennes et chinoises, Arianna remporte sa première médaille planétaire aux Championnats du monde de 2007 à Milan (l'argent sur 500 m) et brille sur la scène européenne en remportant le titre toutes distances en 2008 et 2009, et un total de huit médailles d'or continentales jusqu'en 2010. Lors des Jeux de Vancouver, dans le majestueux Pacific Coliseum de Vancouver, la championne de l'ASD Bormio Ghiaccio est éliminée en quarts de finale du 1000 m, termine 3e de sa demi-finale du 1500 m, part en finale B et la remporte pour se classer 9e. Le relais 3000 m italien sort au même stade et ne brille pas dans la petite finale. Mais après avoir brillamment tracé sa route sur 500 m, elle dispute la finale le 17 février, se maintient en 3e position tout du long et enlève le bronze derrière la Canadienne Marianne St-Gelais (argent) et la Chinoise Wang Meng (or). Arianna Fontana est la première Italienne médaillée olympique dans une épreuve individuelle de short track.

Exploits à répétition

En 2011, 2012 et 2013, Arianna Fontana s'affirme comme l'incontestable n°1 européenne en remportant trois fois le classement toutes distances des championnats continentaux, disputés à Heerenveen (Pays-Bas), Mlada Boleslav (République tchèque) et Malmö (Suède), Elle est aussi pour la première fois médaillée de bronze toutes distances aux Mondiaux de 2011 de Sheffield (Royaume-Uni) grâce à deux médailles d'argent sur 500 m et 1000 m, et récidive l'année suivante à Shanghai (Chine). Par ailleurs, elle remporte au terme de la saison 2011-2012 le classement Coupe du monde du 500 m, ce qu'aucune Italienne n'avait réussi auparavant. Elle explique en janvier 2014 : "J'espère arriver à Sotchi au maximum de ma forme physique et mentale. Je vais tenter d'entrer dans les finales de toutes les distances ainsi qu'en relais, et j'essayerai de jouer la médaille à chaque fois". Le pari sera presque gagné !

Trois podiums à Sotchi 2014

En l'espace de cinq journées, soit du 13 au 18 février 2014, dans l'arène Iceberg de Sotchi, Arianna Fontana ne quitte pas le podium. Tout commence par une incroyable finale du 500 m : à quatre tours de l'arrivée, la Britannique Elise Christie entraîne Fontana et la Coréenne Park Seung-hi dans une chute collective derrière la Chinoise Li Jianrou. Cette dernière continue seule en piste et l'emporte. Les trois autres finalistes se sont relevées et Christie passe la ligne en 2e position devant Fontana. Puis la Britannique est disqualifiée et l'Italienne prend la médaille d'argent qui pour elle "vaut de l'or". Deux jours plus tard, lors de la finale du 1500 m, une chute à l'arrière élimine trois des sept concurrentes. Arianna Fontana se maintient derrière la Coréenne Shim Suk-hee et la Chinoise Zhou Yang pour prendre le bronze à l'arrivée. Enfin, le 18e février, la Chine est disqualifiée après la fin du relais 3000 m et l'Italie (Fontana, Lucia Peretti, Martina Valecpina, Elana Viviani), initialement 4e, monte sur la troisième marche du podium où trône l'équipe de la République de Corée. Pari presque gagné car Arianna prend ensuite une pénalité en 1/4 de finale du 1000 m.

Un break avant ses quatrièmes Jeux

Déjà quintuple médaillée olympique à 23 ans, Arianna Fontana va faire un long break à partir de 2015. "J'étais trop fatiguée mentalement. Mon corps restait prêt à courir, mais pas mon esprit. J'ai même eu des doutes sur le fait que j'allais continuer à patiner." Durant sa période loin des pistes de glace, elle apprend la boxe ! Quand elle reprend la compétition, se qualifiant pour ses 4e Jeux à PyeongChang, elle reprend sa domination continentale : nouvelles victoires au classement toutes distances à Turin en 2017 et à Dresde en 2018, un mois avant les Jeux. Son total de médailles européennes se monte à 41 podiums et 24 titres, dont sept au classement "overall".

L'or enfin, et le record !

Les Jeux de PyeongChang 2018 se transforment en conte de fées pour la championne de 27 ans. Après avoir défilé drapeau en main en tête de sa délégation lors de la cérémonie d'ouverture, Arianna Fontana atteint enfin son but : le 13 février dans l'arène de Gangneung remplie à ras-bord, elle mène la finale du 500 m de bout en bout, puis résiste devant des gradins en fusion au retour de Choi Min-jeong qu'elle parvient à devancer du bout du patin (22 cm) sur la ligne d'arrivée, avant la disqualification de la star coréenne pour obstruction. La sixième médaille olympique de l'Italienne est en or ! "Quand j'ai vu que j'étais première, j'ai crié, j'ai pleuré. J'ai travaillé des années pour ça et les quatre derniers mois ont été particulièrement difficiles. Je n'avais que le but d'arriver ici dans la meilleure forme de ma vie. Je chassais l'or, et je l'ai finalement eu," dit-elle.

Après s'être classée 7e et dernière de la finale du 1500 m remporté par Choi, Arianna s'adjuge le 20 février avec Lucia Peretti, Cecilia Maffei et Martina Valcepina la médaille d'argent du relais 3000 m, malgré une chute en cours d'épreuve, mais l'Italie est la seule équipe classée derrière la République de Corée après disqualification de la Chine et du Canada, les autres formations finalistes, ce qui offre le bronze aux Pays-Bas vainqueurs de la finale B. Enfin, deux jours plus tard, Fontana remporte sa huitième médaille olympique en prenant la 3e place du 1000 m remporté par la Néerlandaise Suzanne Schulting devant la Canadienne Kim Boutin. En quatre éditions des Jeux Olympiques, Arianna Fontana totalise une médaille d'or, deux en argent, cinq en bronze : elle est la plus décorée de toutes les patineuses de short track, tout en égalant les records de l'Américain Apolo Anton Ohno (2 or, 2 argent, 4 bronze) et du Coréen puis Russe Viktor An (6 or, 2 bronze). 

Après avoir laissé planer le doute sur son éventuelle retraite sportive, Arianna Fontana annonce fin mai 2018 qu'elle a l'intention de continuer. "C'est l'heure de reprendre l'entraînement, pour me remettre en forme, pour programmer les prochaines années, celles qui vont me porter jusqu'aux Jeux d'hiver de Beijing 2022", dit-elle. Et son objectif est clair : "Avec une seule médaille supplémentaire, je peux devenir la n°1 de mon sport aux Jeux"... tous sexes confondus !

Plus


Résultats

  • Jeux
    Résultat
    Sport
    Epreuves
  • A 4:05.918
    Patinage
    Relais 3000m
    B 1:29.156
    Patinage
    1000m
    O 0:42.569
    Patinage
    500m
  • B F
    Patinage
    Relais 3000m femmes
    A F
    Patinage
    500m femmes
    B F
    Patinage
    1500m femmes
  • B FINALS
    Patinage
    500m femmes
  • B
    Patinage
    Relais 3000m femmes


back to top En

skip to content

Arianna FONTANA

  • G 1
  • S 2
  • B 5

The greatest female short track skater in Olympic history

The youngest ever Italian to win a medal at the Winter Games – aged 15 in 2006 – Arianna Fontana finally secured a gold in her fourth Games, PyeongChang 2018, in the 500m. Arianna took home three medals (bringing her total to eight) to become the most decorated female short track speed skater in Olympic history.

No limits

On 10 December 2017, Arianna Fontana, named flagbearer for Italy at the PyeongChang Games, posted a photo of herself as a child on Instagram, wearing skates, a ski suit, knee pads and a short track helmet, and wrote: "I remember the exact moment that I decided to follow my passion. It is easy to remember, because I have thought of this moment every time I have been doubted, every time I was told that I wouldn't make it. It is in these moments that I have found the strength and the motivation to push myself and to realise that there are no limits, only in our imagination. Limits imposed by other people are not for me nor for those who remain committed to their vision." Born in Sondrio, in the Valtellina valley (Lombardy), Arianna began in her discipline at age four, following in the footsteps of her older brother. The talent she showed from an early age saw her join the Italian team at age 15 and promptly mount three podiums (500m, 1,500m and 3,000m) to give her second place overall at the European Championships in Krynica-Zdrój (Poland). Full speed ahead to Turin 2006!

The youngest ever Italian to medal at the Winter Games

On the ice in the Palavela arena in Turin, in front of a home audience, Arianna was eliminated in the quarter-final of the 500m and the semi-final of the 1,000m, from which she went on to place third in the B final, for sixth place overall. And on 22 February 2006, she competed in the final of the 3,000m relay with Marta Capruso, Katia Zini and Mara Zini. South Korea took gold and, with China disqualified, Canada secured silver and Italy bronze. At age 15 and 314 days, Arianna became the youngest ever Italian to win an Olympic medal at the Winter Games. As such, the young skater was named a Knight of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic.

Making history for Italy at Vancouver 2010

Determined to do all she could to close the technical gap separating her from the best Korean and Chinese skaters, Arianna won her first world medal at the 2007 World Championships in Milan (silver in the 500m) and shone on the European stage by winning the overall title in both 2008 and 2009, as well as a total of eight European gold medals in the period to 2010. At the Vancouver Winter Games, in the majestic Pacific Coliseum, the champion from Bormio Ghiaccio ASD was eliminated in the quarter-final of the 1,000m, finished third in the semi-final of the 1,500m and then ninth overall after winning the B final. The Italian 3,000m relay team also went out in the semi-final and did not perform well in the B final. But after a brilliant performance in the 500m, Arianna battled it out in the final on 17 February, maintaining third place throughout the race to take bronze behind Canada's Marianne St-Gelais (silver) and China's Wang Meng (gold). She became the first Italian to win an Olympic medal in a women's individual short track skating event.

Repeated successes

In 2011, 2012 and 2013, Arianna reaffirmed her status as the unbeatable European champion by winning the overall title in the European Championships in Heerenveen (Netherlands), Mladá Boleslav (Czech Republic) and Malmö (Sweden). She also claimed her first overall bronze at the World Cup in Sheffield (United Kingdom) – with two silver medals in the 500m and 1,000m – and her second in Shanghai (China) the following year. In addition, she finished the 2011-2012 season at the top of the World Cup overall standings for the 500m, something which the Italian had not previously achieved. She explained in January 2014: "I aim to arrive at Sochi in peak physical and mental condition. I will attempt to make it to the finals of all distances, including the relays, and I will try for the medal each time." An Olympic target that she very nearly met!

Three podium places at Sochi 2014
In the space of five days, from 13 to 18 February 2014, Arianna did not step down from the podium in Sochi's Iceberg arena. It all started with an incredible 500m final: four laps from the finish, British skater Elise Christie took down Arianna and Park Seung-hi (South Korea) in a group crash behind Li Jianrou (China). The Chinese skater continued the race alone and took gold. The other three finalists picked themselves up and Christie crossed the line in second place, in front of Arianna. The Brit was then disqualified and the Italian awarded the silver medal, which, in her words, "felt like gold". Two days later, during the 1,500m final, a crash at the back of the field eliminated three of the seven skaters. Arianna maintained her position behind Shim Suk-hee (South Korea) and Zhou Yang (China) to cross the line for bronze. Finally, on 18 February, China was disqualified after the 3,000m relay, putting the Italian team (Arianna, Lucia Peretti, Martina Valcepina and Elena Viviani) – who crossed the line fourth – on the third step of the podium, which was topped by the South Korean team. But Arianna fell one event short of reaching her goal, after being given a penalty in the quarter-final of the 1,000m.

A break before her fourth Winter Games

With four Olympic medals by the age of 23, Arianna took a long break beginning in 2015. "I was pretty tired mentally. My body was ready to race again but my mind was not. I had some doubts on whether to keep skating or not." During her time away from the ice, she took up boxing! When she returned to competition, qualifying for her fourth Winter Games in PyeongChang, she resumed her European dominance with new overall victories in Turin in 2017 and Dresden in 2018, one month before the Winter Games. Her European medal total reached 41 podium places and 24 titles, including seven overall wins.

Gold finally, and the record too!

The 2018 PyeongChang Winter Games turned into a fairy tale for the 27-year-old champion. After carrying the Italian flag in the Opening Ceremony, Arianna finally reached her goal: on 13 February, in the packed Gangneung arena, she led the 500m final from start to finish, then held out against Choi Min-jeong to cross the line a skate's length (22cm) ahead of the South Korean, who was later disqualified for obstruction. The Italian's sixth Olympic medal was gold! "When I saw I was first, I was just yelling and started crying. I worked for four years, and the last four months were really hard for me. I was really focused on getting here in the best shape ever. I have been chasing gold and, finally, I have it," she said.

After placing seventh, and last, in the 1,500m final won by Choi, Arianna took the silver medal with Lucia Peretti, Cecilia Maffei and Martina Valcepina in the 3,000m relay, despite being caught up in a crash. Italy were the only team to officially finish behind South Korea; the other two teams – China and Canada – were disqualified, meaning that the Dutch team, winners of the B final, took bronze. Finally, two days later, Fontana won her eighth Olympic medal after finishing third in the 1,000m final won by the Dutch skater Suzanne Schulting, with silver going to the Canadian Kim Boutin. In four Olympic Games, Arianna Fontana has won a total of one gold medal, two silver medals and five bronze medals: she is the most decorated female short track skater of all time, equalling the records of the American Apolo Anton Ohno (two gold, two silver and four bronze) and the South Korean then Russian Viktor An (six gold and two bronze). 

After leaving some doubt as to her possible retirement from the sport, Arianna announced at the end of May 2018 that she intends to continue competing. "It is time to resume training, to get in shape, to make plans for the years ahead, which will take me to the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics," she said. And her objective is clear: "With just one more medal, I can become the no.1 Olympian of all time for my sport," – both men and women included!

More


Results

  • Games
    Result
    Sport
    Event
  • S 4:05.918
    Skating
    3000m relay
    B 1:29.156
    Skating
    1000m
    G 0:42.569
    Skating
    500m
  • B F
    Skating
    3000m relay women
    S F
    Skating
    500m women
    B F
    Skating
    1500m women
  • B FINALS
    Skating
    500m women
  • B
    Skating
    3000m relay women


back to top Fr