Home > The IOC > Members > Mrs Rita SUBOWO



Entry in the IOC 2007
Country INA (Indonesia)
Born 27 July 1948
Bachelors of Science in Economics from Universitas Kristen Indonesia

Chairman, the Orchid Foundation of Indonesia (2000-2005); Treasurer, Handicapped Children Foundation "Tiara Sejahtera" (1985-1992)

Sports practised
Basketball, swimming, golf

Sports administration
Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) Executive Board Member (2006-); member (2000-2006) then Vice-President (2006-2010) of the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) Executive Committee; President of World Volleyball, Vision for Asia (2002-2009); Chair of the Beach Volley Council (2005-2007); Senior Vice-President (2003-2005), Secretary General (2005-2007) then President (2007-2011) of the Indonesian National Olympic Committee; Member of the Asian Volleyball Confederation Executive Committee and Board of Administration (2002-2009); Vice-President (1996-2000) then President (2000-2006) of the National Volleyball Federation of Indonesia; President (2000-2006) then Honorary President (2005-2009) of the Indonesia Volleyball Association, Secretary General (1990-1992) then Chair (1992-1996) of the Asian Pacific Beach Volleyball

Awards and distinctions
The International Olympic Committee Diploma for the Women and Sport Achievement Award, Honorary Star Adi Manggala Krida from the former President of the Republic of Indonesia, Gen. (Ret.) Soeharto; Doctor Honoris Causa in Sport Science from Universitas Negeri Semarang

IOC History
Elected as President of a National Olympic Committee; member of the following Commissions: Women and Sport (2008-2012), Sport for All (2008-2015), Sport and Environment (2011-2015), Coordination for the 2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2014 in Nanjing (2010-2014), Sustainability and Heritage (2015-), Sport and Active Society (2015-)