Home > The IOC > Members > Mr Zhenliang HE

Mr Zhenliang HE

Mr Zhenliang HE

Zhenliang HE
Entry in the IOC 1981
Country CHN (People's Republic of China)
Born 29 December 1929, ZHEJIANG
Electrical Engineering degree from Aurore University (Shanghai); Professor of Philology and International Affairs

Engineer; Vice-Minister; Member of Standing Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (1993-1998); Vice-Minister in charge of the State Commission on Physical Education and Sport of the People’s Republic of China (1985-1994)

Sports practised
Table tennis, tennis, swimming, football, basketball, golf

Sports administration
Secretary General of the NOC (1982-1986), Vice-President (1986-1989), then President (1989-1994), now Honorary President; Advisor to the National Sports Federation of China (1997-); President of the Chinese Athletics Association (1992-1996) and of the Chinese Rowing Association (1986-2003); President of the Asian Rowing Association (1990-1994); President (1999), then Honorary President of the East Asian Games Association (EAGA); advisor and member of the Executive Board of the Organising Committee for the Beijing Olympic Games (BOCOG) (2000-)

Awards and distinctions
Order of Merit in Sportof the People’s Republic of China (1997); Grand Cross of the Civil Merit of Spain (1992); Commander of the Saint Charles Order of Monaco (1993); Life-time Achievement in Sport CCTV Award of the People’s Republic of China (2002); the International Panathlon ’Golden Torch’ (2001); Delphi Prize of the International Olympic Academy (2007); Encomienda de Número de la Orden del Mérito Civil of Spain (2007); Doctor Honoris Causa of the Sports Academy (United States), of the Meiji University (Japan) and of the Kyang Nam University (Korea); Award “Talent of Character in China for the year 2007” (2008); Award of Merit for Reform, China (2008); Olympic Order (2009); the Award of Excellence “Guirlande d’honneur” of the FICTS (Fédération Internationale du Cinéma et de la Télévision Sportifs) (2009)

IOC History
Member of the IOC from 1981 to 2010; Honorary Member since 2010; Member of the Executive Board (1985-1989, 1994-1998, 1999-2003); Vice-President of the IOC (1989-1993); Chairman of the Cultural Commission (1995-1999); Chairman (2000-2009) and then Honorary Chairman (2009-) of the Commission for Culture and Olympic Education; Vice-Chairman of the Sport for All Commission (1985-1987); member of the following Commissions: Olympic Solidarity (1981-1987), Olympic Movement (1985-1999), Apartheid and Olympism (1989-1992), Council of the Olympic Order (1989-1993), Preparation of the XII Olympic Congress (1990-1993), Study of the Centennial Olympic Congress – Congress of Unity (1994-1996), “IOC 2000” (1999), "IOC 2000" Reform Follow-up (2002), 2009 Congress (2006-2009)