Home > The IOC > Members > Mr Denis OSWALD



Entry in the IOC 1991
Country SUI (Switzerland)
Born 09 May 1947
Law, Universities of Neuchâtel, Zurich and Cambridge; degree (1970); qualification as lawyer (1973); doctorate (1977)

Independent lawyer at the Neuchâtel Bar; President of the Bar in the Canton of Neuchâtel (1990-1993); Judge at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS); legal consultant; Director of the International Center for Sports Studies (CIES); Professor at the University of Neuchâtel

Sports practised
Rowing, ice hockey, cycling, running, skiing

Sports career
Member of the national rowing national team (1968-1976); 13 times national champion in elite competition including five times in single sculls; participated in the Olympic Games in 1968 in Mexico City (bronze medal, four oars with coxswain), in 1972 in Munich (8th, four oars with coxswain) and in 1976 in Montreal (8th, quadruple sculls); 4th in the World Rowing Championships (1974) (quadruple sculls); national university ice hockey vice-champion

Sports administration
Secretary General (1978-1989) then President of the International Rowing Federation (FISA) (1989-); Deputy Secretary General of the Swiss Olympic Association (1985-1996); President of the Neuchâtel Rowing club (1976-1980); member of the Appeals Chamber of the Swiss Ice Hockey League (1976-1991); member of the Board of Governors of the International Masters Games Association (IMGA) (1993-); Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) President (2000-2012)

Awards and distinctions
Winner of the Swiss sports merit prize for teams (1968); French Sports Academy Prize (2003); Honorary Doctor of Laws, De Montfort University, Leicester (Great Britain) (2011)

IOC History
Member of the Executive Board (2000-2012); Chair of the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in 2004 in Athens (2001-2004); Chair of the Coordination Commission for the Games of the XXX Olympiad in 2012 in London (2005-2012); Vice-Chair of the Eligibility Commission (1992-1998); member as IF representative of the following Commissions: Olympic Movement (1989-1999), Evaluation for the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in 2004 (1996-1997), Coordination for the Games of the XXVII Olympiad in 2000 in Sydney, Coordination for the Games of the XXVIII Olympiad in 2004 in Athens (2000-2001); member of the following Commissions: Juridical (1993-2015), Medical (1995-2015), IOC 2000 (Executive Committee, 1999), IOC 2000 Reform Follow-up (2002), Sport and Law (2008-2015), Legal Affairs (2015-); member (1994) of the Olympic Collectors’ Association then Vice-Chair (1996-1999); Vice-Chair of the International Olympic Memorabilia Federation (2000-2001)