Home > The IOC > Members > Mr Ching-Kuo WU

Mr Ching-Kuo WU

Mr Ching-Kuo WU

Ching-Kuo WU
Entry in the IOC 1988
Country TPE (Chinese Taipei)
Born 18 October 1946
Tung-Hai University (Chinese Taipei) (1965-1969); Oxford College of Technology (Great Britain) (1971-1973); Liverpool University (Great Britain) (1974-1977)

Architectural Officer of the Milton Keynes Development Corporation (Great Britain) (1975-1980); Chief Architect-Planner in charge of Technical College, Ministry of Aviation and Defence (Saudi Arabia) (1981-1982); Professor of the Graduate School for Town Planning, Chinese Culture University (Chinese Taipei) (1985-1987); Principal of C.K. Wu & Associates International (Chinese Taipei) (1986-); Chairman of the Olympia Foundation (Chinese Taipei) (1990-); Chairman of the Olympism Society (Chinese Taipei) (2000-); Founder and Chairman of Xiamen Olympic Museum (2008-), Tianjin Dagon Olympic Museum (2009-), Samaranch Memorial (2013-) and Nanjing Olympic Museum (2014-) in the People’s Republic of China

Sports practised
Basketball, tennis, swimming, golf, squash

Sports career
Captain of Tung-Hai University basketball team (Chinese Taipei) (1966-1968); silver medallist at the National Basketball Championship of President Chiang Kai-Shek (People’s Republic of China) (1966)

Sports administration
Executive member (1982-1998) then President (2006-) of the International Boxing Association (AIBA); Executive member of the Young Women’s Basketball Commission of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) (1986-1990); Vice-President of the National Olympic Committee (NOC) of Chinese Taipei (1986-1990); Vice-President of the Chinese Taipei Basketball Association (1986-1990); Senior advisor of the World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) (1998-); Honorary Vice President of World Bowling (WB – formerly FIQ) (2001-); Delegate at the World Games in Kaohsiung (Chinese Taipei) (2009); Chairman of World Series of Boxing (2010-); Chairman of Boxing Marketing Arm (2012-); Chairman of AIBA Pro Boxing (2012-); Vice-President of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) (2015-)

Member of other associations
Institute of British Engineers; Institute of Interior Designers (Great Britain); Board Director of the Importers’ and Exporters’ Association of Taipei; Member of Honour of the International Union of Architects (UIA)

"My Olympic Oath"; "Samaranch and His Olympic Ideas"; "Olympic Dream with Chinese Heart"

Awards and distinctions
National Ten Outstanding Young Men (1984); National Gold Merit for Outstanding Contribution for Sport (1985); Sports Decoration by Bulgaria Government (1988); Olympic Decoration by Korean Olympic Committee (1988); Honorary Professor of Nankai University (2002-), Tianjin University (2002-), Soochow University (2004-) and Renmin University (2005-) in the People’s Republic of China; Honorary Professor of the Armenia State Institute of Physical Culture (2008-); Gold Merit for Outstanding Contribution to Sport by the Azerbaijan Government (2007); Honorary Doctorate by the Azerbaijan State Academy of Physical Culture and Sport (2008); Olympic Golden Order by the National Olympic Committee of Armenia (2008); Honorary Degree of Doctor in Philosophy by Dankook University (Republic of Korea) (2008); Sports Merit Medal “Mario Vazquez Rana” by the Pan-American Sports Organisation (PASO) (2008); Royal Order of Al Alaoui by HM King Mohammed VI of Morocco (2010); Polar Star Order by HE Elbergdorj Tsakhia of Mongolia (2012); Excellence Guirlande d’Honneur by the Federation of Sport Movies and TV (FICTS) (2012); The Star of the Order “Dostyk” awarded by the President and Prime Minister of Kazakhstan (2013); Order of Merit by the Russian Government (2013); 1st Class Professional Education-Culture Medal, awarded by the Government of Chinese Taipei (2013); Honorary Doctorate by the United States Sports Academy (2013); Honorary Doctorate by the “Vassil Levski” Bulgarian National Sports Academy (2014); Honorary Professor of the Uzbek State Institute of Physical Culture (2015-); Visiting Professor of the Olympic College of Nanjing Sports Institute (People’s Republic of China) (2015-); Order of Merit awarded by the Uzbekistan Government (2015); FICTS Golden Card (2015)

IOC History
Member of the Executive Board (2012-); member of the following Commissions: International Olympic Academy (1989-1991), Cultural (1992-1999), Coordination for the XVIII Olympic Winter Games Nagano 1998 (1992-1998), Culture and Olympic Education (2000-2015), Olympic Philately, Numismatic and Memorabilia (2002-2013), Olympic Games Study (2002-2003), Coordination for the Games of the XXIX Olympiad Beijing 2008 (2002-2008), Evaluation of the Games of the XXXI Olympiad in 2016 (2008-2009), Coordination for the Games of the XXXI Olympiad Rio 2016 (2010-), Coordination for the XXIV Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 (2016-); Chair of the Olympic Philately, Numismatic and Memorabilia Commission (2014-2015); Vice-Chair (2015) then Chair (2016-) of the Culture and Olympic Heritage Commission