Accueil > Sports > Handball > Handball

Fédération Internationale de Handball

International Handball Federation
Adresse P.O. Box
Peter Merian-Strasse 23
4002 Basel
Suisse
Téléphone +41 61 228 90 40
Fax +41 61 228 90 55
E-mail ihf.office@ihf.info
Site officiel http://www.ihf.info

La Fédération internationale de handball (IHF) est créée en juillet 1946, à Bâle (Suisse). Le handball fait ses débuts olympiques aux Jeux de Munich de 1972.

Règlement

Le handball est un jeu rapide dans lequel deux équipes de sept joueurs se passent - et se disputent ! - un petit ballon, qu'ils attrapent et dribblent avec les mains. L’équipe qui marque le plus de buts remporte le match. Le jeu se compose de deux mi-temps de 30 minutes, séparées par une pause de dix  minutes.

Élimination directe

Les équipes sont réparties en deux poules de six, chez les hommes comme chez les femmes. Chaque équipe affronte les autres équipes de sa poule. La demi-finale se dispute entre les deux meilleures équipes de chaque poule. Les autres équipes s’affrontent pour déterminer le classement à partir de la cinquième place. Les vainqueurs de la demi-finale s’affrontent pour l’or et l’argent ; les vaincus pour le bronze.

Munich et Montréal

Le handball en salle fait ses débuts olympiques aux Jeux de Munich, en 1972. La Yougoslavie remporte la médaille d’or à l’issue d’une compétition entre 16 équipes masculines. Le handball féminin fait son entrée aux Jeux de Montréal en 1976.

Home > Sports > Handball > Handball

International Handball Federation

International Handball Federation
Address P.O. Box
Peter Merian-Strasse 23
4002 Basel
Switzerland
Phone +41 61 228 90 40
Fax +41 61 228 90 55
Email ihf.office@ihf.info
Website http://www.ihf.info

The International Handball Federation (IHF) was founded in July 1946 in Basel, Switzerland. Handball made its Olympic debut at the 1972 Munich Games.

The rules

Handball is a fast-paced game involving two teams of seven players who pass, throw, catch and dribble a small ball with their hands while trying to score goals. The team with the most goals wins the game. A game consists of two 30-minute halves with a 10-minute half-time break.

Knockout tournament

Teams are placed into two pools of six for both men and women. Each team plays the other teams in that pool. The top two teams in each pool proceed to the semi-finals. The remaining teams play classification matches for fifth place and lower. Semi-final winners play for the gold and silver medals. Semi-final losers play for the bronze.

Munich and Montreal

Handball (the indoor version) was first present in the 1972 Munich Games. A competition involving 16 men’s teams was staged with Yugoslavia winning the first Olympic gold medal. A women’s event was then added at Montreal in 1976.