Accueil > Sports > Luge > Federation

Fédération Internationale de Luge de Course

International Luge Federation
Adresse Rathausplatz 9
83471 Berchtesgaden
Allemagne
Téléphone +49 8652 669 60
Fax +49 8652 669 69
E-mail office@fil-luge.org
Site officiel http://www.fil-luge.org

La Fédération Internationale de Luge de Course (FIL) est créée en 1957. La luge fait ses débuts olympiques aux Jeux d'hiver d'Innsbruck, en 1964.

 

Épreuves actuelles

Les hommes et les femmes s'affrontent dans des épreuves disputées en simples et en doubles. Officiellement, les doubles sont mixtes. Mais, traditionnellement, les hommes courent ensemble. Le plus grand des deux équipiers se place alors au-dessus de son partenaire, pour une meilleure aérodynamique.

Compétition en simples

Les épreuves masculines et féminines se déroulent sur deux jours, avec deux descentes quotidiennes. Chaque descente compte, les quatre chronos étant ensuite additionnés pour désigner le vainqueur. Les hommes et les femmes utilisent la même piste, cependant les femmes démarrent d'une position située plus en aval.

Compétitions en doubles

Les épreuves de doubles durent une seule journée. Chaque paire effectue deux descentes. Comme en simples, chaque descente compte. Le total des temps détermine le vainqueur.

Quatre descentes

Le format en quatre descentes est spécifique aux Jeux Olympiques. Il vise à récompenser la régularité, l'endurance et la capacité à résister à la pression, particulièrement forte le deuxième jour. La plupart des compétitions se jouent en deux descentes, à l'image des Championnats du monde et de la Coupe du monde.

Home > Sports > Luge > Federation

International Luge Federation

International Luge Federation
Address Rathausplatz 9
83471 Berchtesgaden
Germany
Phone +49 8652 669 60
Fax +49 8652 669 69
Email office@fil-luge.org
Website http://www.fil-luge.org

The Fédération Internationale de Luge de Course (FIL) was founded in 1957. Luge made its Olympic debut at the 1964  Innsbruck Winter Games.

 
Current events

Men and women currently compete in singles events and a doubles event. Officially, the doubles event is open to men and women, but, traditionally, men have ridden together, with the larger man lying on top for a more aerodynamic fit.

Singles competition

In both men’s and women’s singles, the competition takes two days, with two runs staged on each day. Each run counts. The four times are added up, and the fastest total time determines the winner. Men and women compete on the same track, but the women start from a position further down the course.

Doubles competition

Doubles luge is a one-day competition in which pairs of athletes take two runs down a course. Like singles, each run counts and the fastest total time determines the winner.

Four run format

The four-run format is unique to the Olympic Winter Games. It is designed to reward consistency, endurance and ability to withstand pressure, particularly on the second day. At most events, such as the World Championships and World Cup races, singles are contested over two runs.