Home > The IOC > Commissions > Coordination Commissions > Press Accreditation For The Olympic Games - Rio 2016

Press Accreditation For The Olympic Games - Rio 2016

The IOC has established a quota of “E” (press) accreditations for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games which will be distributed by National Olympic Committees (NOC) to press organisations in their country.

The total quota has been set at 5,800, the same figure that was set for Atlanta 1996, Sydney 2000, Athens 2004, Beijing 2008 and London 2012.

Press accreditation for the Olympic Games is allocated only to media professionals.

Written and photographic press wishing to apply for accreditation for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games should contact the National Olympic Committee in the country in which their organisation is based. Click here for the contact details of your NOC. The accreditation process for non rights holding radio/television organisations will be managed directly by the IOC.  Further details on this process can be found here.

The allocation of press accreditations within a country is the responsibility of the National Olympic Committees.  It is not the responsibility of the International Olympic Committee or the Rio 2016 Organising Committee.

The press accreditation process for Rio 2016 will officially start in July 2014, 24 months prior to the start of the Games, when the IOC will officially notify all National Olympic Committees (NOCs) of their press accreditation quota allocations.


July 2014

IOC notifies all NOCs of their press accreditation allocation for Rio 2016

6- 8 August 2014

Second World Press Briefing Rio

July 2014 – January 2015

Media wishing to apply for accreditation for Rio 2016 should contact their relevant NOC during this period

5 March 2015

The Rio 2016 Organising Committee distributes the Press by Number Accreditation forms and related press publications via their Extranet to NOCs

5 June 2015

Deadline for NOCs to return the completed Press by Number forms to Rio 2016 and inform the press organisations within their territory of their accreditation allocations

5 November 2015

Rio 2016 distributes the Press by Name accreditation forms sent to NOCs that have returned their Press by Number forms

5 February 2016

Deadline for NOCs to return the  Press by Name forms to Rio 2016, listing the names of each press representative they have agreed to accredit

May 2016

Rio 2016 Accreditation Department distributes the non-valid Olympic Identity and Accreditation Cards (OIAC) to National Olympic Committees to send to their press organizations.  The OIAC will act as a visa into Brazil.

5 - 21 August 2016

Rio 2016 Olympic Games


Please see below the description for each press accreditation category:

Accreditation category



JOURNALIST: Journalist, editor, photographic editor, employed or contracted by an international or national news agency, a general daily newspaper, a sports newspaper, magazine or internet site, a digital journalist, or independent or freelance journalist under contract.


SPORT SPECIFIC JOURNALIST:  Journalist specializing in a sport on the Olympic Games program, meeting the same criteria as defined for category “E”


PHOTOGRAPHER: Photographer meeting the same criteria as defined for category “E”


SPORT SPECIFIC PHOTOGRAPHER:  Photographer specializing in a sport on the Olympic Games program, meeting the same criteria as defined in category “E” 


TECHNICIAN:  Technician, meeting the same criteria as defined for category “E” 


SUPPORT STAFF: Support staff (office assistant, interpreter, etc).  Access to Main Press Centre (MPC) only.  Assigned only to press groups or organisations that have reserved a private office space in the MPC


Non-rights holding broadcasting organisation: Member of a non-rights holding radio and/or television organisation.

Non- rights holding radio and television accreditations

The IOC will directly grant ENR accreditation to a limited number of radio and television organisations who do not own rights to broadcast the Olympic Games (herein referred to as non- rights holders).  Applications are available between 5 February and 1 April 2015.  Due to the limited number of accreditations available in this category, application deadlines will be strictly observed. 

Please click here for further details relating to this accreditation category